It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American National Biography is a biographical encyclopedia of significant persons, no longer living, who have influenced the direction of American history. An American is loosely defined as someone whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Significance includes achievement (superior accomplishment as judged by contemporaries), fame (celebrity or notoriety), or influence (effect on one's own time despite lack of public notice). Even some ordinary persons have been included if they left autobiographies, diaries, or other artifacts that attracted posthumous attention.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is an index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. It indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes.
It is included in the Literature Resource Center. Once you are on the LRC search page, click the link for Gale Group Databases. Scroll down to select Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Once on the search page, click the Sources Indexed link to see the extensive list of print publications indexed by BGMI.
Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.
Historical Newspapers Online, from Proquest, contains the full text of many American historical newspapers, including many that are no longer published. Both well-known and obscure publications are included.