Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPAN 8300: Imperio y alteridad: identidades minoritarias en el mundo hispano (Wright): Course Objectives (SPAN 8300 - Wright)

Objectives (SPAN 8300 - Wright)

At the end of the library sessions, students will be able to:

  • Identify appropriate databases and other sources of reliable information to complete the course assignments.
  • Practice searching to improve and refine skills.

Goals (SPAN 8300 - Wright)

Each student is to prepare:

  • An annotated bibliography that, at a minimum, includes:
    • One very recent study on the topic;
    • One foundational or paradigmatic study on the topic.
    • DUE - November 4.
  • A critical essay:
    • 9 pages plus the bibliography;
    • DUE -
      • November 18 (if you want critical feedback for the final product - highly recommended);
      • December 9 (without possibility of feedback and corrections).

Style Guides (SPAN 8300 - Wright)

There are various styles for creating bibliographies and citing authors in your research papers. Basic information about some of the more popular styles can be seen from the Libraries' homepage. Click on the "Services" tab long the top of the Main Library website, then look for "Citation Help" under "Research & Teaching" (far left column). Finally, click on "Citation Style Guides" for a list of recommended styles.

Among the different styles you will find a link to a short set of examples from the 2016 (8th ed.) of the MLA Handbook. If you need to know how to cite information from a source that is not listed on this brief guide, you can find copies of the latest edition in both the Main and Science Reference areas, and on the second floor of the Main Library (PN203 .G53 2016). However, there is now a 2021 (9th ed.) of the Handbook available at the Main Library Reference desk: Main Ref LB2369 .M53 2021Beware that earlier editions may not fill the criteria set for this class!

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Shedenhelm
she/her/hers
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite