Skip to main content

SPAN 6100: El sujeto rebelde y la modernidad incipiente (Wright): Course Objectives (SPAN 6100 - Wright)

SPAN 6100 (Wright) - Objectives

This guide is designed to help you identify key databases for research about the literary genres and criticism that have special significance for the Early Modern period of Spanish literature.

At the end of the library session, students will be able to:

  • Identify appropriate databases and other sources of reliable information to complete the course assignments.
  • Learn about the different kinds of scholarly publications (monographs, journals, reference manuals, edited volumes, and bibliographies) and, in turn, how to critically assess their reliability and relevance.

SPAN 6100 (Wright) Goals

DUE November 10:

Annotated bibliography that reflects the "state of the question" for a topic relevant to the topic of this course. The bibliography will be the basis of a conference-length paper (see below).

DUE November 24 (for commentary - recommended);  December 8 at 3:30 pm (final version paper):

Critical essay (9 pages plus bibliography).

SPAN 6100 (Wright) - Style Guides

There are various styles for creating bibliographies and citing authors in your research papers. Basic information about some of the more popular styles can be seen from the Libraries' homepage. Click the "Services" tab on the top of the UGA Libraries Webpage, then look for "Citation Style Guides" under the "Research & Teaching" column on the left, including the MLA Handbook.

Copies of the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook are available at the Main, Science and Miller Learning Center Reference areas. There are also copies on the third floor of the Main Library (PN203 .G53 2016).

Your Librarian

Laura Shedenhelm's picture
Laura Shedenhelm
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite