Skip to Main Content
My Account Donate

Spring into Research 2023: Home

UGA Libraries are hosting library-themed and library-adjacent classes the week of March 20 to help students, faculty, and staff succeed academically.

Class Schedule

Please register for zoom classes using the links below. Please note, some of the sessions are in-person, locations of those are listed after the class description. 

Monday March 20

11a-12p - Introduction to RefWorks. Learn how to use RefWorks, an incredibly helpful citation management software for researchers and writers provided by the UGA Libraries. RefWorks allows you to save citations from databases, organize them, attach PDFs, and then format and insert the citations into Word or Google Documents in one of 15,000 different citation styles. Register for zoom class

2p-3p - Imposter Syndrome. Many students and/or professionals question whether they are prepared to succeed, especially as they begin deciding on a major, preparing to land a job of their interest, or are considering the pursuit of a graduate/professional degree. When this occurs, imposter phenomenon may be a contributing factor. This presentation is designed to define imposter phenomenon, normalize it, to discuss the impact of imposter phenomenon and to share strategies to overcome it. Register for zoom class

2p-3p - Makerspace Technology for Graduate Students. In this session, learn about makerspace technology and how to apply it to your graduate research ... and to unwind from your graduate research! The McBay Science Library Makerspace is open to students of all disciplines and provides technology instruction. Technology is offered free of cost and includes 3D printers, a laser cutter, Arduino microcontrollers, Raspberry Pi minicomputers and a sewing & embroidery machine. Meet at the McBay Science Library room 381.

3:30p-4:30p - Create a Simple Map with Latitude/Longitude Data Using QGIS.  Need to create a map of locations for your poster, paper, or project and all you have are latitude and longitude for each point? This workshop will help you to turn your data into a simple map. No experience necessary. Want to follow along? Download and install the Long Term Release (LTR) version of QGIS before the workshop. Download the example Lat/Long Data. Register for zoom class

Tuesday March 21

10a-11a - Introduction to EndNote. Class includes installation instructions, downloading records from databases into your own Endnote library, and using it to format your citations in Word. There will be time for questions and answers. Recommended that you load the program on your computer ahead of time if you wish to follow along. Click here to download for free from the library website. New users requiring set up assistance can contact the speaker at dhartle@uga.edu in advance. Register for zoom class

3p-4p - Introduction to RefWorks. Learn how to use RefWorks, an incredibly helpful citation management software for researchers and writers provided by the UGA Libraries. RefWorks allows you to save citations from databases, organize them, attach PDFs, and then format and insert the citations into Word or Google Documents in one of 15,000 different citation styles. Register for zoom class

4p-5p - Introduction to the Command Line.  This short workshop will serve as a gentle introduction to the Unix/Linux command line with a special focus on how it can be used to search and manipulate text. Attendees will be well-equipped to begin exploring how Unix/Linux tools might be useful for their own research in the humanities and beyond. Register for zoom class

Wednesday March 22

2p-3p - Introduction to Systematic Reviews.  Curious about what exactly makes a review "systematic?” Join The AU/UGA Medical Partnership's Ed Sperr and Julie Gaines for an introduction to the form! We will cover how systematic reviews differ from other types of reviews and discuss what's involved in conducting one of your own. Register for zoom class

4p-5p - Tidyverse and Dplyr R Workshop: Part I. Join us for part one of our workshop series using Tidyverse. This series will introduce the concepts and power behind the programming language R. These sessions are open to all and are intended for beginners. No experience necessary. Meet at the Main Library in the DigiLab (room 300)

​Thursday March 23

9:30a-10:30a - Cut the Clicks: Using Plugins to Access Full Text. Frustrated by article paywalls and extra search steps? Want to get quick, direct access to full-text without using the library website? Explore browser plugins like LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click! Register for zoom class

11a-12p - Makerspace Technology for Graduate Students. In this session, learn about makerspace technology and how to apply it to your graduate research ... and to unwind from your graduate research! The McBay Science Library Makerspace is open to students of all disciplines and provides technology instruction. Technology is offered free of cost and includes 3D printers, a laser cutter, Arduino microcontrollers, Raspberry Pi minicomputers and a sewing & embroidery machine. Meet at the Main Library in the DigiLab (room 300)

1p-2p - Create a Simple Map from Aggregated Data (e.g. census or other data at the county/state/country level). Do you have data that is based on an area; like by city, county, state, or country? This workshop will help you join your data to the geometry of your area(s) so you can map them. No experience necessary (not even the previous workshop). Want to follow along? Download and install the Long Term Release (LTR) version of QGIS before the workshop. Download the example Aggregated Data. Register for zoom class

Friday March 24

10a-11a - Stress Management. This is a presentation on stress management in which participants may be able to define stress, learn a mindfulness technique, and develop further understanding of stress management strategies. Register for zoom class

10a-11a - Designing a Research Poster. A good research poster isn't a research article on a 4​'x3' piece of paper. Learn design tips and tools to make your poster look professional and how to communicate through graphic elements such as maps, charts, and tables. No artistic skill or knowledge of specialized software required! Register for zoom class

1p-2p -  Gather Citations Smarter, Not Harder: Setting up Search Alerts and Saved Searches.  Automate the gathering of newly published research for long term projects. Search alerts and saved searches are a great time saving tool. Webinar will demonstrate how to use these resources in major databases. Register for zoom class

3p-4p -  Using Pivot to Find Research Funding.  Introduction to using Pivot to find grant finding and research collaborators at UGA and beyond! Register for zoom class