Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spring into Research 2021: Home

UGA Libraries is hosting Spring Into Research, a series of online sessions from March 8 - March 19, 2021 on a variety of topics relating to library services and resources and beyond.

Schedule of sessions

All sessions take place online via Zoom. Please register for the session(s) you wish to attend using the individual registration links below.

If you have any questions, please contact Diana Hartle (dhartle@uga.edu).

Monday March 8, 2021

3:00p - 3:30p - Overview of Library Resources and Services. This short session will provide an overview of the most popular services and resources available via the library website. Learn how to access ebooks, use the multi-disciplinary Multi-Search, and navigate our resources by subject area.  Register

Tuesday March 9, 2021

9:00a - 10:00a - Introduction to RefWorks. Learn how to use RefWorks, a citation management software provided by the UGA Libraries. RefWorks allows you to save citations from databases, organize them, attach PDFs, and then format and insert the citations into Word or Google Documents in one of 15,000 different citation styles. Incredibly helpful tool for researchers and writers. Register

10:00a - 11:00a - Introduction to EndNote for Macs. This will be an introduction to EndNote for Macs, highlighting popular functions such as: importing references, exporting references, syncing, and inserting citations into Word. Differences between Macs (New M1 chips and before) will be mentioned. There will be time for questions and answers. It's recommended that you load the program onto your computer ahead of time if you wish to follow along. New users requiring set up assistance can contact the speaker at sriggs@uga.edu in advance. Register Link to presentation

10:00a - 10:30a - Makerspace Technologies: The Raspberry Pi Was Delicious, But the 3D Printers, Laser Cutter, Arduino, and Virtual Reality Really Made the Meal. In this session, participants will be introduced to the technologies and services available to them in the Science Library Makerspace. Spoiler alert: we are open to all disciplines, teach both students and faculty how to operate equipment, like our 3D printers and laser cutter, and everything is offered free of charge!!! Part of this session will feature projects created in the Makerspace to get participants thinking about how to integrate technology and making into their research and academics. Register

3:00p - 3:30p - Preparing for Literature Reviews for MA Thesis and Doctoral Prospectus. Many programs require a written thesis for MA, and all doctoral programs require a prospectus for their topic to be approved. These all include a literature review. The program will include when and how to search ProQuest Dissertations and Theses and WorldCat. Register 

Wednesday March 10, 2021

10:00a - 11:00a - Introduction to EndNote for PCs. This will be an introduction to EndNote for PCs. Class includes installation troubleshooting, enabling useful Endnote tools, downloading records from databases into your own Endnote library, and using it to format your citations in Word. Register

Thursday March 11, 2021

10:00a - 11:00a - Writing in the Sciences. This workshop will teach you the norms and expectations of American academic science writing and provide time to practice new skills for your own writing process. Register

2:00p - 3:00p -  Introduction to RefWorks. Learn how to use RefWorks, a citation management software provided by the UGA Libraries. RefWorks allows you to save citations from databases, organize them, attach PDFs, and then format and insert the citations into Word or Google Documents in one of 15,000 different citation styles. Incredibly helpful tool for researchers and writers. Register

3:00p - 4:00p - Introduction to Data Visualization @ UGA and Beyond.  What can you do with all that data? Learn about different resources and programs for data visualization including Excel, Tableau public, and R! No programming experience necessary. Register Link to slides

Tuesday March 16, 2021

9:00a - 10:00a - RefWorks Advanced. Have you learned to use the basic functions of RefWorks? This class will go into advanced features of RefWorks, including tips and tricks learned by the instructor after 15 years of use. Question and answer session included for personalized help. Register

3:00p - 3:30p - Overview of Library Resources and Services. This short session will provide an overview of the most popular services and resources available via the library website. Learn how to access ebooks, use the multi-disciplinary Multi-Search, and navigate our resources by subject area.  Register

Wednesday March 17, 2021

10:00a - 11:00a - Introduction to Systematic Reviews.  Curious about what exactly makes a review "systematic?”  Join The AU/UGA Medical Partnership's Ed Sperr and Julie Gaines for an introduction to the form! We will cover how systematic reviews differ from other types of reviews and discuss what's involved in conducting one of your own. Register

3:00p - 4:00p - Create a Map with QGIS. In this workshop we will turn latitude/longitude data into a map. Register Online Tutorial

3:00p - 4:00p - The Archives in Your Laptop. Maximize your use of primary sources with GALILEO databases and other online sources. Register

Thursday March 18, 2021

10:00a - 11:00a - Making the Most of PubMed. With over 32 million citations, PubMed provides extensive coverage of medicine, allied health, and the biological sciences. In this session, we’ll talk about how to construct your search, limit your retrieval to a manageable size, and what to do with your results. Register

2:00p - 3:00p - RefWorks Advanced. Have you learned to use the basic functions of RefWorks? This class will go into advanced features of RefWorks, including tips and tricks learned by the instructor after 15 years of use. Question and answer session included for personalized help. Register

Friday March 19, 2021

2:00p - 3:00p - Create a Basic Webmap with QGIS, the QGIS2 Web Plugin, and Github Pages. In this workshop we will turn use a QGIS plugin to create a basic webmap that you can customize with Leaflet and share via Github pages or another web service. This workshop is for those with some experience with GIS. Register Online Tutorial