It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYOS 1001: Human Impact on Landscapes of the World (Leigh): Home
You can search GIL-Find by doing a "Books" search on the homepage, or by going to Find > Search Tools > GIL-Find Catalog.
You can also use GIL-Find to search for and request books in all University System of Georgia Libraries. (Instructions)
To use our GALILEO databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus and some UGA wireless networks, you'll be prompted to log in with your MyID and password. Your MyID is your UGAMail address minus the "@uga.edu."
Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.
Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. Full-text coverage is provided for nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Articles and books related to environmental topics.
Environment Complete offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database contains more than 1,590,000 records from more than 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s (including 959 active core titles) as well as more than 100 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline. Environment Complete includes over 170 journal titles and almost 100 book titles that are not included in Academic Search or Business Source.
Index and abstracts to articles, books, maps, reports, and other literature on the geosciences.
GeoRef and GeoRef In Process provide bibliographic citations to journal and conference literature in the geographical and geological sciences. GeoRef covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. GeoRef In Process contains records that are, literally, in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently.
Index to articles covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide covers wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, including all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Taxonomic and geographic identifiers include broad regions and specific localities.
Access a copy of more than 160,000 publications authored by our scientists over the past 100+ year history of the USGS ranging from products written for the general public, maps, and articles published in scientific journals.