Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOG 3290 Mountain Geographies Dr. Sarmiento (special collections): Home

About UGA special collections

Hours 

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 8 a.m.- 12 p.m. and 1 p.m.-4:45  p.m.*

Tuesday and Thursday 8 a.m.- 12 p.m. and 1 p.m.- 6:45 p.m.* 

*Please note that the research and reference area closes from 12-1 p.m. 

Contact
Main number for general questions: 706-542-7123
https://www.libs.uga.edu/scl

Planning Your visit
Since items in archives and special collections are generally one-of-a-kind and unique, we devote a lot of time and resources to making sure that everyone can use them. This means that there are some things that we'll ask you to do to make sure that the collections stick around for as long as possible. 


1) Show ID: When you visit for the first time, we're going to ask to see your ID. Why? To make sure that you are you! School ID, Driver's License, Passport, or Military ID are all acceptable forms of identification.

2) Stow your stuff: We don't allow bags, purses or coats in the reading room. We will provide you a key and locker to store your personal belongings.

3) Use pencil, not pen: Pencil can be erased. Ink is forever.  (We will give you a pencil and paper)

4) No food or drink allowed: Spills and archival materials do not mix.  Feel free to take a lunch or snack break should you need to step away from the reading room.  

5) Cameras are allowed: You are permitted to photograph materials in the reading room (no flash photography).  You will be asked to fill out a form stating you understand copyright.

6) Remember to cite: Don't forget to write down what collection, box number, and folder number that extra-special document you found was in. It's difficult to find again "the letter that the lady wrote to that guy in the 1930s" when there are literally millions of sheets of paper in our underground vault. (That said, your online research account does keep track of what boxes you use; document folder numbers, though!)

 

 

Citation Help

Assistance with citations:

If you have questions about citing materials from the Russell Library ask the archivist on duty in the reading room for assistance.

Citation management software: Endnote and Refworks. Collect citations from GALILEO databases, add them to your papers, and automatically format your bibliography.

Visit

Visit Special Collections

The Richard B. Russell Building is located at 300 South Hull Street.  The UGA EAST-WEST bus stops right in front of the building.

Here is a map:


View University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries Building in a larger map

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jill Severn
she/her/hers
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries
300 South Hull St.
706-542-5766
Website