Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall into Research 2022: Home

Fall into Research is an annual event hosted by the Libraries focusing on library and library-adjacent topics.

Class Schedule

Sessions will all be via Zoom. Please register using the registration links below.

Monday September 12

3:00p - 4:00p - Introduction to R for Data Science. Join us to learn how to upload, wrangle, and analyze data in R. No experience necessary! Register 

Tuesday September 13

10:00a - 11:00a - Introduction to RefWorks.  Learn how to use RefWorks, an incredibly helpful citation management software for researchers and writers provided by the UGA Libraries. RefWorks allows you to save citations from databases, organize them, attach PDFs, and then format and insert the citations into Word or Google Documents in one of 15,000 different citation styles. Register

1:00p - 1:30p - Introduction to the Library. This overview session covers database searching, full-text access, requesting items not owned at UGA, EndNote, and other library tools. Register

3:00p - 4:00p - Introduction to Ggplot. Join us to learn how to visualize your data using R's most power and intuitive visualization package. No experience necessary! Register 

Wednesday September 14

10:00a - 11:00a - EndNote Basics for PCs. Need help managing your citations for your scholarly publications? EndNote can be the solution to all your citation formatting woes! In this session, learn what EndNote is, how to build your library of citations, syncing your library to the cloud, and how EndNote interfaces with Word to create in-text citations and bibliographic entries. Designed for novice users of EndNote. Register

2:00p - 2:30p - Google Scholar. Librarian and expert Googler shares her tips on how to use both Google Scholar and Google as advanced research tools. Connect to UGA Library subscriptions, create alerts, efficiently find articles, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Register

2:00p - 3:00p - Setting up Search Alerts and Saved Searches. Automate the gathering of newly published research for long term projects. Search alerts and saved searches are a great time saving tool. Webinar will demonstrate how to use these resources in major databases. Register

Thursday September 15

10:00a - 11:00a: EndNote Basics for Macs. This will be an introduction to EndNote for Macs. Class will highlight popular functions such as: importing references, exporting references, syncing, and inserting citations into Word. Differences between Macs (new M1 chips and before) will be mentioned. There will be time for questions and answers. Recommended that you load the program on your computer ahead of time if you wish to follow along. Click here to download for free from the library website. New users requiring set up assistance can contact the speaker at sriggs@uga.edu in advance. Register

3:00p - 4:00p: Introduction to the Command Line. This short workshop will serve as a gentle introduction to the Unix/Linux command line with a special focus on how it can be used to search and manipulate text. Attendees will be well-equipped to begin exploring how Unix/Linux tools might be useful for their own research in the humanities and beyond. Register

Friday September 16

10:00a - 11:00a - Cut the Clicks: Using Plugins to Access Full Text. Frustrated by article paywalls and extra search steps? Want to get quick, direct access to full-text without using the library website? Browser plugins like LibKey Nomad, Endnote Click, and Google Scholar Button are here for you!  Register

2:00p - 3:00p - Create a Map with QGIS. In this workshop we will turn latitude/longitude data into a map suitable for posters, reports, and presentations. Register

3:00p - 4:00p - Grant Funding with Pivot. Introduction to find grant funding and research collaborators at UGA and beyond! Register