Skip to main content

COVID-19: Library Resources and Services

Welcome

Library databases and ebooks will continue to be available to students, faculty, and staff. We encourage you to use the following resources during this time. If you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to a librarian either through online chat or email (ask@uga.libanswers.com) or by emailing your subject librarian.

Online Access

Multi-Search/EBSCO Discovery Service Great place to get started for most research topics. 

Google Scholar Use Google Scholar to connect to full-text articles provided by UGA Libraries via the "View It @ UGA" links in the margin. Google Scholar searches across many scholarly disciplines and sources.

Libkey Nomad: Free Chrome browser extension that connects UGA resources with scholarly articles you find in PubMed, Wikipedia and hundreds of scholarly publisher websites. Also locates Open Access versions of articles. 

RedShelf Textbooks: The UGA Bookstore has partnered with RedShelf to provide free e-textbooks from participating publishers to students and faculty. After setting up a free account with RedShelf, you can add up to seven of their books to a digital shelf. Access ends May 25, 2020. Another source for temporary free access to science textbooks is ScienceDirect.

More online resources

Databases by Subject  List of databases and other resources provided by UGA Libraries. 

Databases by Title An A-Z list of databases provided by UGA Libraries.

Ejournal search Search for a specific journal online. You can also add proxy information to URLs to see if UGA has access.

Ebooks 

Temporary Extended Access to Online Resources Links to publishers and databases who have released additional ebooks, online journals, and streaming videos to libraries free of charge. Since access is temporary, these are not found when searching GIL/E-Journal search/Multi-Search.

FIND IT @ UGA

FIND IT @ UGA button. Click to see if UGA Libraries owns online or in print.  Most library databases include the FIND IT @ UGA button, which you can use to locate online access for specific citations.


Article Scanning: Pursuant to Governor Kemp's April 2 Executive Order, we have suspended the scanning of print articles and book chapters from our collection. You can still request them through Interlibrary Loan, who will do their best to find an open library to supply the PDF.

Copyright Questions: Please see the Copyright and Fair Use Statement. Have questions about fair use of materials for eLC or other sharing with other students? Contact Mariann Samuels, mariann@uga.edu.

Access to the Main Library Computers

Pursuant to Governor Kemp's April 2 Executive Order, the Main Library is closed to all staff and students. We cannot offer use of our computers and other technology until further notice.

Research Help

Research & Instruction librarians remain available to assist you. 

Always feel free to ask a librarian for help, either through online chat or email (ask@uga.libanswers.com) or by emailing your subject librarian. Librarians can provide help over email, phone, or web conferencing.

You can also visit the following resources for research help: