Skip to main content

COVID-19: Library Resources and Services

Welcome

Library databases and ebooks will continue to be available to students, faculty, and staff. We encourage you to use the following resources during this time. If you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to a librarian either through online chat or email (ask@uga.libanswers.com) or by emailing your subject librarian.

Access to Library Materials

Online Course Reserves: We offer a free course reserves service that integrates with eLC to provide access to electronic resources and digitization of materials. Learn more about submission guidelines or submit your course readings.

Article and Book Chapter Scanning: Pursuant to Governor Kemp's April 2 Executive Order, we have suspended the scanning of print articles and book chapters from our collection until further notice. You can still request them through Interlibrary Loan, who will do their best to find an open library to supply the PDF.

Ebooks for Class Use: The Libraries may be able to purchase an ebook for your class readings. Please fill out the suggest a purchase form.

Temporary Extended Access to Online Resources: Many publishers and database vendors have released additional ebooks, online journals, and streaming videos to libraries free of charge. See our guide for a select list of resources. Since access is temporary, these won't appear in GIL/E-Journal search/Multi-Search.

Create Stable Links: When sharing links with students, use the linking options within a database or create a custom link that will prompt students to login with their MyID.

Streaming Media (see below for Brown Media Archives materials): The Libraries offer access to all of Films on Demand and some films in Kanopy. If your class needs to view films or other media not available on these platforms, contact Jermaine King at mediadep@uga.edu. Note that Kanopy films are leased for one or three years. Please confirm with mediadep@uga.edu that an existing lease will remain available through the dates you need students to view it.

Special Collections Material Digitization: Please email sclib@uga.edu.

Brown Media Archives Material: Please email abolins@uga.edu.

Map and Government Information Library Materials Digitization: Please email mapsinfo@uga.edu or view a list of frequently consulted digital resources.

Copyright Questions: Please see the Copyright and Fair Use Statement. Have questions about fair use of materials for eLC or other sharing with students? Contact Mariann Samuels, mariann@uga.edu.

Research Instruction & Help

Research & Instruction librarians remain available to work with you to teach your students search tools and research skills.

Librarians can set up research skills instruction for classes via Zoom and web conferencing tools. Sessions may be live or recorded for later viewing. To arrange for class instruction, use the request form or contact the subject librarian for your department, college, or school. 

Always feel free to refer your students to a librarian for help, either through online chat or email or by emailing your subject librarian. Librarians can help students with their specific research topic over email, phone, or web conferencing.

Faculty can also link from eLC to subject lists of databases and other online resources, citation management tools, and other "how-to" guides.