It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARHI 4800/8700 - Greek & Roman Sculpture in Color: Finding Sources
Use this guide to help you locate and cite books, articles, images and other resources for your Art History research assignments. Feel free to email me anytime this semester if you have library questions or would like to make an appointment to discuss your research (firstname.lastname@example.org).
Encyclopedic resource covering art history and artists worldwide.
The Grove Dictionary of Art provides online access to the entire text of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art plus newly-commissioned articles. The database includes over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Through an alliance with The Bridgeman Art Library, the database offers access to over 130,000 searchable images.
Archologische Bibliographie des Deutschen Archologischen Instituts Rom, the online Subject Catalog of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, internationally known for the breadth of its resources on classical antiquity.
Dyabola, The Catalog, which includes citations for books, chapters, journal articles, festschriften and references to book reviews, is part of Projekt DYABOLA, a collection of visual and bibliographic databases covering classical, Egyptian and Near East archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, numismatics, classical history and ancient social and legal history. No full text.To access the database, check the box IP access? and press Start? on the Projekt DYABOLA homepage. This will open a new window which lists the Arch_ologische Bibliographie at the beginning of the database list. For the English language version, click on the British flag at the top of the page. Coverage Dates: 1956 to present.
Open-access version of Dyabola. In addition to containing records for materials held in the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute, ZENON DAI indexes journals, Festschriften and conference proceedings. It covers Greek and Roman material culture as well as Greek and Roman history, epigraphy, and numismatics.
Gathers together nearly 250 years of bibliography on the archaeology of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Stabiae, Oplontis and other ancient centers of the Vesuvius area. Print version: Main Library, 4th floor, DG 70 P7 z994 1998. Updated and digitized in PDF at http://www.arborsapientiae.com/pagina/nova_bibliotheca_pompeiana_project.html (scroll all the way to the bottom of the page for the files).
Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship. Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics is funded at the University of Georgia by the William C. Devaux Fund for Excellence in Classics.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library. Offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources.
The digital Loeb Classical Library is an online version of the Loeb Classical Library series. This series offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources. There are more than 500 discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE). Most major classical authors are covered and new editions are added each year.
Index to journal articles and books in Classical Studies.
An annual bibliography for research into all aspects of Classical Studies, L'Annee Philologique indexes about 1500 journals from all over the world as well as books, festschriften, dissertations, articles in collections, and book reviews. Coverage begins with citations from 1959 and continues to the present although at present the most recent citations are approximately two years old.
For the period 1914-1958, use the print volumes in the Main Library Reference Room.
Access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Multi-Search allows you to search a large number of databases simultaneously and view the results in one unified list. You can then limit your results by various criteria (books, articles, images, etc.). GIL-catalog results, ARTstor, and JSTOR are included.
Multi-Search differs from GALILEO@UGA in that GALILEO requires you to search databases individually, whereas Multi-Search allows you to search a large number of databases simultaneously and view the results in one unified list. You can then limit your results by various criteria. You may still wish to search certain databases individually in GALILEO@UGA, as they contain special features, such as ERIC's Thesaurus.
Dissertations and theses from academic institutions around the world, including UGA beginning with Fall 2019. Earlier UGA theses and dissertations are in the 'Electronic Theses & Dissertations' database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text provides full text access to about 1.9 million dissertations and theses granted by academic institutions worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Basic information for a smaller number of dissertations and theses that are not available in full text is also included in this database.