ENGL 1102 (LaFave): Finding Sources

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.

Project Muse is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Database provider: Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University.

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 300 literary journals; book reviews; 25,000 classic and contemporary poems; 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories; full text of over 7,500 classic novels; author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.

Reference sources include:

The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals is now part of the MLA International Bibliography. Included is information on the periodicals that are indexed in the database, plus many more. The Directory of Periodicals data is updated annually.

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. The OED gives definitions, etymological analysis, and quotations to demonstrate the use of words in the English language over time.

The web-based version of the OED includes all information contained in the print counterpart, plus at least 1,000 new and revised entries each quarter.

The publisher, Oxford University Press, provides extensive information about the dictionary and its use on its web site.

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than eighty languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. Published by Arden Shakespeare in association with The Folger Shakespeare Library.