This is the "Home" page of the "World War II - Resources at UGA Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World War II - Resources at UGA Special Collections   Tags: georgia  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.libs.uga.edu/wwii_scl Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About UGA Special Collections

Home pagewww.libs.uga.edu/scl

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Saturday, 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

Contact: sclib@uga.edu or 706-542-7123

About: The mission of the University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries is to acquire, organize, preserve, and provide access to unique and rare materials related to the history and culture of Georgia. The Richard B. Russell Jr. Special Collections Libraries Building houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, including University Archives, the Richard B. Russell Jr. Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.

 

World War II

Southern states were critical to the war effort during World War II (1941-45) and none more so than Georgia. Some 320,000 Georgians served in the U.S. Armed Forces during World War II, and countless others found employment in burgeoning wartime industries. Their experiences were pivotal in determining the state's future development, and the war itself marked a watershed in Georgia's history. Because it occurred when important shifts in the state's politics, race relations, and economy were already underway, the war accelerated Georgia's modernization, thereby lifting it out of the Great Depression and ushering it into the mainstream of American life.

- New Georgia Encyclopedia

 

Harry Truman to Richard B. Russell, Jr. re: bombing of Japan, 1945

Letter from President Harry Truman to Sen. Richard B. Russell, Jr., regarding the bombing of Japan. 9 August 1945

Richard B. Russell, Jr. Collections, Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies

Your Library

Profile Image
Special Collections Libraries
Contact Info
706-542-7123
Send Email
 

Credits

Compiled by Renna Tuten and Emily Olivier, 9 January, 2013

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip