GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: COMM 1110: Intro to Public Speaking (Nolan): General Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

New Newspaper Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education

Per the agreement, users will automatically connect to chronicle.com on campus. For off-campus access, faculty, students, and staff can create a free account using their UGA e-mail address. Through their account, they can also subscribe to daily and weekly newsletters.

The New York Times

In 2023, the Libraries began offering free access to the New York Times, which includes access to The Athletic, the online sporting news publication owned by the publisher. Register for your New York Times account at this link, by choosing University of Georgia — Athens, GA from the drop-down menu and entering your UGA email address.

Wall Street Journal

The Libraries also provide free access to the Wall Street Journal, including WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, WSJ+, and subscriber-only podcasts and videos. Use this link to create an account using your UGA email address.

Find Books

Not sure where to look? Try these resources first.

GIL-Find Catalog
Search the UGA Libraries' collections of books, movies, e-books, and more. To find books on a person or organization, go to the Advanced Search, select "in subject" in the dropdown menu, and search for the name.

News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Best for Georgia news, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the Athens Banner-Herald.. Also offers regional, national, and international news sources.
Access World News provides access to electronic editions of thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as international sources. In addition to newspaper content, sources such as blogs, broadcast transcripts, and video clips are also included. Company and industry information, politics, sports, cultural activities, and people in the community are among the subjects covered. Paid ads are excluded.
Beta trial database.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Legal

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Law journals, Supreme Court opinions, and more.
HeinOnline provides full text access to an extensive collection of law journals, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations (through 1983), Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, and U.S. Treaties. It also includes a full text database of selected legislative histories. Heinonline contains complete runs of the law journals and documents. Includes U.S. and international law journals as well as criminal justice journals.
Westlaw Campus Research: Law This link opens in a new window
Legal research
Westlaw Campus Research is a comprehensive collection of primary legal resources including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials, as well as international materials including the European Union. Westlaw Campus Research also provides access to thousands of analytical resources including American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, and more than 800 law reviews and journals.

This subscription does not include the Business or News portions of Westlaw Campus.

Biography

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographical essays on (dead) people important to American history.
The American National Biography is a biographical encyclopedia of significant persons, no longer living, who have influenced the direction of American history. An American is loosely defined as someone whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Significance includes achievement (superior accomplishment as judged by contemporaries), fame (celebrity or notoriety), or influence (effect on one's own time despite lack of public notice). Even some ordinary persons have been included if they left autobiographies, diaries, or other artifacts that attracted posthumous attention.
Many of the biographies include an illustration or photograph of the person, a bibliography or links to other resources. New biographies are added quarterly, and updates are also made quarterly to incorporate new facts and new interpretations as needed. Produced by Oxford University Press under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical essays on (dead) people important to British history and culture.
Biographical encyclopedia of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the year 2002.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. Full-text coverage is provided for nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. In addition, full-text coverage is provided for more than 300 journals and over 130 books. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage.
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.
Historical Newspapers Online, from Proquest, contains the full text of many American historical newspapers, including many that are no longer published. Both well-known and obscure publications are included.

Your Librarian