INTL 1100 (Gallagher): Home

UGA has subscriptions to many domestic and international newspapers, some which require a subscription.

To read the headlines from the top daily newspapers, I recommend using Factiva's News Pages.  It provides access to articles from the top newspapers and financial papers in the US in a convenient list format (Wall Street Journal, NYT, Washington Post, LA Times, Chicago Tribune,  Baron's, Forbes, USA Today, AJC, Tampa Bay Times).

If you are doing a case study, I suggest starting with these resources first to get background information.

Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!

Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.  

Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Updated regularly!

CRS Reports

NEW:  Statista:  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

IMF eLibrary:  Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

UN iLibrary:  Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.

UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.

For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website.  It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.

REQUESTING PDF SCANS

You can request pdf scans of book chapters and print articles which already reside in our collection.  Fill out this form.

REQUESTING BOOK PURCHASES

You can request ebooks be purchased by the UGA Libraries for use for this research paper. Fill out this form.  If we can get an ebook, we normally can turn on access within a business week.

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database.

3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not.  Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.

We also have databases which only cover Political Science and International Affairs.  The best of these are:

• Political Science Complete

  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

• ProQuest Political Science

  ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

Try these first:

***Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) 

Indexes and summarizes articles related to peace research.  Try this one first!

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)

Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.  

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center 

This database includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

ProQuest Political Science

​ProQuest Military Database

Military and government articles.  Include's full text of Jane's.

Digital National Security Archive

Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized sources such as theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

GILFind, the Libraries catalog, contains information about the over 5 million items available to researchers.

To find information about your topic, do a search for the country you are interested in.  Add addition terms like "sources" or "interviews" to find primary accounts.

The subjects that have to do with your topic can also be helpful.  Simply search for your country and one of these subjects to find books specific to your topic.

Crimes against humanity > History. 
Genocide > History. 
Mass murder > History. 
State-sponsored terrorism > History. 
War crimes > History. 
Political atrocities > History. 

Also remember that countries change names over the years, and what it may be named now may be completely different from the past.

For example, in our catalog East Timor is referred to as Timor-Leste

Genocide > Timor-Leste. 
Political violence > Timor-Leste. 
Genocide intervention > Timor-Leste. 
Humanitarian intervention > Timor-Leste. 
Timor-Leste > Politics and government > 20th century. 
Timor-Leste > History > Autonomy and independence movements. 
Timor-Leste > Relations > Indonesia. 
Indonesia > Relations > Timor-Leste.