Skip to main content

HIST 4990 Senior Seminar (Inscoe, special collections): Home

Get Research Help

Russell Library archivists are available to assist you during the open hours of the Russell Library:

Monday-Friday 8-4:45 p.m.

If you want to meet with Jill Severn,  you can come by during  office hours on Thursday afternoons from 1-4 p.m. at the reference desk on the 3rd floor of the Special Collections Building. If want to meet at another time, contact her at russlib@uga.edu.  (Please allow 24 hours for a response.) 

Citation Help

Assistance with citations:

If you have questions about citing materials from the Russell Library ask the archivist on duty in the reading room for assistance.

Citation management software: Endnote and Refworks. Collect citations from GALILEO databases, add them to your papers, and automatically format your bibliography.

Key Dates for History 4120

Key Dates During the Semester: 

  • Introduction to Archival Research Session: September 3rd (during class time, meet in Room 329 special collections building
  • Submit special collections material requests by 5 p.m., September 9th 
  • Archival Research Practicum: September 10th  (during class time, meet in Room 329 special collections building)
  • Paper Topic Proposal Due:  September 24th  (200-300 word description) 
  • Paper Prospectus Due: October 6th  [Submit prospectus to instructor (either to his office or via e-mail) and schedule appointment for Oct. 7, 8, 9 to meet with him and discuss it] 
  • Oral Progress Report on Paper and submit bibliography: November 5th 
  • First draft of paper due: November 19th 
  • Oral presentations on paper/research: December 1st and 3rd   
  • Final paper due: December 8th before 5 p.m. (no class meeting; hand deliver paper to instructor’s office or mail box) 

Research Process Guides

Historical research can be incredibly exciting and interesting, but getting started can be daunting--especially if you are starting from scratch in coming up with a topic. 

In general, the most important thing to remember is that getting started early is essential.  Give your self time to browse, connect, reimagine, and revise.  Below are some links that walk you through steps for developing a topic and writing an interesting paper.  These aren't the only way to approach the work, but they give you a place to start.  Remember to consult your professor for big questions or concerns and to re-read the assignment.

Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer
How to Frame a Researchable Question

Created by historian William Cronin and his graduate students to help undergraduates develop research topic in environmental history, but ideas and concepts are useful for any area of historical research.

Stages of A Historical Research Project
Independent project on the Web. offers a streamlined outline for research processes that may be a good quick reference tool

Visit

Visit Special Collections

The Richard B. Russell Building is located at 300 South Hull Street.  The UGA EAST-WEST bus stops right in front of the building.

Here is a map:


View University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries Building in a larger map

 

Subject Guide

Jill Severn
Contact:
706-542-5766
Website / Blog Page