FDNS 4070: Research Methodology in Human Foods and Nutrition: Home

The UGA Libraries is offering six awards totaling $3000 for undergraduate students.These awards provide cash prizes for excellence in research and academic inquiry. Prizes are awarded each spring at the CURO Symposium (participation in CURO/Honors not required). 

• Seniors: one $800 first prize and two $450 second prizes
• First - Third Year Students: one $600 first prize and one $300 second prize
• NEW! Jurors' Choice Award: One $400 prize highlighting a particular research method, resource, or collection. Can be from any category (Senior or 1st-3rd year).

Whether you are creating a historical thesis, policy paper, composition for piano or a scientific study, you are eligible to apply for this award upon completing the following:

• 3-5 page essay describing and reflecting upon your research project
• Meet with a librarian for a research conference

See our website for details and deadlines!

PubMed

Government database for scholarly and clinical health science information. Very extensive.

Medline (available through EBSCOhost) is a part of PubMed, but there are additional journals indexed in PubMed.

For additional tutorials check out these: List of Pubmed Tutorials

Academic Search Complete
Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources

AGRICOLA (agricultural sciences)
Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.  

CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive (EBSCO)
Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences

CABDirect Archive (1910-1972)
Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences between 1910 and 1972.  

EcoSal Plus
Escherichia coli and Salmonella: Cellular and Molecular Biology.   

Food Science Source (EBSCO)
Full-text database for the food industry. 

JSTOR
Access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals.  

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.  

PubMed (NCBI/NIH) 
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text. 

​ScienceDirect
Articles from scholarly journals on all the sciences, including the social sciences.

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Online database which combines the Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and the CAS Registry database. 

Simmons OneView (Experian)
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior.  

Web of Science (at Web of Knowledge)
Provides access to the combined Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Search for books in UGA's libraries using the GIL-Find catalog.

You can search GIL-Find by doing a "Books" search on the homepage, or by going to Find > Search Tools > GIL-Find Catalog.

You can also use GIL-Find to search for and request books in all University System of Georgia Libraries. (Instructions)

BrowZine

Citation Management

Google Scholar

Grant Funding

Interlibrary Loan

Research Language