Resources for the study of surficial and near-surficial processes.
Last Updated: Aug 12, 2013
This password is required to access GALILEO databases, e-journals, and e-books from off campus and on some wireless networks.
- Go to this link on the library homepage
- Type in your nine-digit 810 or 811 (UGA Institution ID)
- Enter your last name
- Enter your PIN. If you don't yet have a PIN or have forgotten it, click on 'Get My PIN' and it will be emailed to you immediately. Check your junk mail if you don't see it.
- Click on 'Logon' and you'll see this semester's GALILEO password
NOTE: The password will change every semester. If your library account is blocked due to overdue books and/or fines you may be unable to access it. Contact Access Services at 706-542-3256 if you can't get into your account or need help getting your PIN.
Search over ninety GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.
- GeoRef & GeoRef In Process
GeoRef and GeoRef In Process provide bibliographic citations to journal and conference literature in the geographical and geological sciences. GeoRef covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. GeoRef In Process contains records that are, literally, in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently. 1693-current
- GeoScience World
GeoScienceWorld is a database covering the various geoscience disciplines that provides full text access to over 35 major publications in the geosciences as well as a direct link into GeoRef.
- Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index covering over 8,000 journal. These three databases can be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once. These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.
- Geologic Guidebooks of North America
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America. Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-1988. A few are from earlier years. Geoscience Information Society (GSIS) volunteers have added many post-1988 guidebooks to the database. Beginning in 2002, new guidebooks will be added to GeoRef as part of the regular database production, and then added to the guidebook database from the GeoRef records. The guidebook database contains the information in the print publication The Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America, sixth edition, compiled and edited by the Geoscience Information Society Guidebooks Committee, Richard Spohn, Chair, and published by the American Geological Institute in 1996.