This is the "Home" page of the "AAEC 3100: Food & Fiber Marketing " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AAEC 3100: Food & Fiber Marketing   Tags: agribusiness, class-guide, consumer research, marketing  

Dr. Forrest Stegelin, Fall 2014
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.libs.uga.edu/content.php?pid=486004 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

AAEC3100: Food & Fiber Marketing

This guide provides research help for AAEC3100

 

GALILEO Login

To use our GALILEO databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus and some UGA wireless networks, you'll be prompted to log in with your MyID and password. Your MyID is your UGAMail address minus the "@uga.edu."

Forgot your MyID and/or password?

Don't have a MyID? Login with the GALILEO password that you can get in your library account. Once you have the password, go to this page to login. Contact Access Services at 706-542-3256 if you have trouble accessing your library account. The password changes every semester.

 

Multi-Search

Search over ninety GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.

 

 

Business Demographics

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.  Mintel requires you to register using your UGA email address.

MRI University Internet Reporter

Data on product buying behavior and media habits of 27,000 adults. MRI requires you to register using your UGA email address. Register at www.mriplus.com. For more information on registering and interpreting MRI data you can go here NOTE: When you have logged all the way into MRI click on the Mediamark Reporter tab to access the data.

Simmons Study of Media and Markets

This is another extensive consumer survey.

Product Launch Analytics

Product Launch Analytics contains detailed descriptions of over one-half million new products, introduced from 1980-present worldwide. Coverage of consumer packaged goods encompasses foods, beverages, health and beauty aids, household products, and pet supplies. Ways you can search the product description include: brand or product name, manufacturer, product category or industry, flavor or fragrance, health or product claim, ingredient, packaging type or material, innovation rating, UPC code, country and date of introduction.

Factiva

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

 

Performance Benchmarks

RMA Annual Statement Studies (Risk Management Association)

  • A print source presenting aggregate balance sheet, income, and ratio data on 700+ industries.  Useful for measuring the performance of a company against the whole industry or for projecting the performance of a new business.  Data are compiled from a sample of 190,000 financial statements of companies served by commercial banks.
  • Provides 23 financial statement items and 19 ratios.  Breakdown by asset and sales sizes.
  • Arranged by NAICS codes.
  • Location: Main Library Reference Room (HF5681 .B2 R63) Tifton campus students can borrow a previous edition from our general collection by using the Book Request Form. Look in the GIL catalog record for this title to get holdings information.
  • Another good source of performance data is:  Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) Main Library Reference Room (HF5681 .R25 I531 - I571)

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Sheila Devaney
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Consumer Demographics

The American Community Survey provides annually updated demographic and socio-economic data. Use American Factfinder and select Advanced Search.  Social Explorer in GALILEO is a good alternative which also provides a mapping component.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip