GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Desegregation at UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections: Russell Library Resources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Russell Library

Home Page: www.libs.uga.edu/russell

Hours:

Monday, Wednesday, Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Tuesdays and Thursdays, 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Contact: russlib@uga.edu or 706-542-5788

About: The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies is a department within the University of Georgia Libraries that reports to the University Librarian and serves as a center for research and study of the modern American political system. Established in 1974 through the efforts of the Richard B. Russell Foundation, Inc., the Georgia General Assembly, and the University System of Georgia Board of Regents, the Library’s original mission was to collect and preserve materials that document the life and career of the late Richard B. Russell, United States Senator from Georgia from 1933 to 1971. With particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the U. S. Congress, current collection development and programming focus on the dynamic relationship of politics, policy, and culture—generated wherever public interest intersects with government. The breadth and depth of Russell Library’s collections provide an interconnected framework of perspectives and experiences for understanding the increasingly diverse people, events, and ideas shaping Georgia’s political landscape.

Collections of the Russell Library

Charlayne Hunter-Gault papers finding aid
These papers primarily document public reaction to the desegregation of the University of Georgia and Hunter-Gault’s professional activities as national correspondent and anchor for MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour. Correspondence to University Dean of Students Dr. Joseph Williams in 1961 reflects both students’ and state residents’ opinions regarding desegregation. Other materials include Dr. John C. Belcher’s research files and transcripts of oral histories he conducted documenting the desegregation of the University.
S. Ernest Vandiver papers finding aid
The S. Ernest Vandiver, Jr. Papers consist of office files and personal papers including correspondence, speeches, press releases, reports from state agencies, news stories, editorials, photographs, and scrapbooks from Vandiver’s career as governor of Georgia (1959-1963). Series I, Subject Files, includes material on segregation in Georgia educational institutions as well as the "University Crisis."
The Walter A. Lundy Files, Red and Black (Fall 1953) Integration Issue papers finding aid
These papers consist of correspondence, clippings and printed materials documenting the response on both local and national levels to the dispute between Walter Lundy and Bill Shipp, editor and managing editor of the Red and Black, the student paper of the University of Georgia, and the Board of Regents of the University System led by Roy V. Harris. The debate concerned Lundy and Shipp's statements in two editorial columns advocating the end of racial segregation in Georgia's public schools. The majority of the correspondents support Lundy and Shipp for their position on segregation while others who do not favor the editors' proposals, decry efforts by Harris and the University of Georgia to proscribe the newspaper's control over its editorial content. Many of the letters and newsclippings come from other student newspapers across the country.
Richard B. Russell, Jr. Collection, Subgroup C, Series X: Civil Rights finding aid
This collection relates to many aspects of the civil rights issue. Almost all of the files deal with black-white relations in the United States, particularly those involving legislative action during Senator Russell's career in the Senate. Issues, such as the antilynching bill, the Fair Employment Practices Committee, racial integration, and the various civil rights bills from 1948 until 1964, are documented. This series is organized by subject then date. While the University of Georgia is not explicitly mentioned as a folder title, correspondence written around the time of the integration of the university does reflect current events.
Walter Stovall papers finding aid
The Walter Stovall Papers primarily contains letters documenting the response of friends, family, and the general public to the marriage of Walter Stovall to Charlayne Hunter in 1963.The papers include correspondence and printed materials (periodicals and clippings) directly related to the marriage as well as articles related to more general Civil Rights issues such as the Civil Rights Act, 1964. The papers also contain a small number of letters written by Charlayne Hunter Stovall and Walter Stovall to his parents detailing the birth of their daughter, Susan.
Foot Soldier for Equal Justice: Horace T. Ward and the Desegregation of the University of Georgia collection finding aid
The papers relate to the Horace T. Ward documentary and book and are mainly photocopies of transcripts from court cases, clippings, and correspondence from former University of Georgia law professor James J. Lenoir and Red and Black student editor Walter Lundy, both of whom resigned positions at the University due to the school’s resistance to desegregation. Specific court cases documented include Ward v. Regents of the University System of Georgia and Holmes v. Danner. The photograph series contains images collected during the research phases of the Ward and Holmes documentaries.
Stovall and McKay Family papers
These papers document Walter Louis and Alice Woodliff Stovall, and their children: Walter Louis, Jr., James Edwin, Mary Katherine, Sarah Elizabeth, Martha Woodliff, and George Woodliff. The majority of the collection is correspondence between the three girls and their parents and document their daily lives. Also, there are letters between George and his wife, Martha McKay, during his service in the Air Corps during World War II. A small amount of correspondence from George and Martha’s son, Walter L. Stovall III and his wife Charlayne Hunter (Gault) discuss their controversial biracial marriage and the birth of their daughter. The McKay papers belonged to Martha McKay and her brother Wright Judson McKay. The majority of her files are related to the Sub-Debs, a women’s civic club, established in 1934. There is also scrapbook about J. E. Mathis, McKay’s maternal grandfather.

Desegregation at UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections: Russell Library Resources

Russell Library

Collections of the Russell Library

Your Library