Skip to main content

Census Statistics: 0verview

Guidance on finding census statistics, especially in American Factfinder and Social Explorer.

Overview

This guide provides pointers on retrieving Census and related demographic statistics via two of the principal databases containing Census data: American Factfinder and Social Explorer.  Statistics on the topics in the selective list below, as well as many other population and housing topics, are available in both databases unless otherwise indicated.  Social Explorer also provides access to historical Censuses (1790- ), several non-Census datasets, and an easy mapping function.  Your choice of one database over another is mainly a matter of personal preference based on ease of use, coverage, and funtionality. 

The Other resources tab provides additional coverage of a few of the topics below.   It also provides a lengthier list of databases that offer census statistics or entire census datasets in various formats.

ancestry 
children in poverty 
college housing / dormitory population 
college graduates 
correctional institution population 
emergency/transitional shelter population (total count of homeless population not available) 
English ability 
families 
foreign-born population 
grandparents & grandchildren 
high school graduates 
Hispanic / Latino population 
homes - single detached, duplexes, mobile 
housing characteristics : age, costs, bedrooms, facilities 
income by sex of workers 
industry of workers 
marital status 
movers  See also Other Resources
non-family households 
nursing facility population 
occupation of workers 
older population 
owner occupied housing units 
place of work (i.e., county or town)  See also Other Resources
poverty status 
religious affiliation  Only available in Social Explorer
renter occupied housing units 
same sex partner households 
school enrollment  (and dropouts)
single-parent families 
Spanish speakers 
travel time to work 
unmarried partner households 
year moved into house 

Your Librarian

John Prechtel's picture
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects:Law

Chat with a Librarian