Skip to main content

MARK 4000: Marketing Research for Business Decisions (Chen): Home

Fall 2017, Dr. Hua Chen

Additional LibGuides

Database Tips

Use the FIND IT button to find full-text, when available.    

New Databases

Business Insights: Global: Delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research. Deep business intelligence powered by statistical data lets researchers spend less time searching and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.

Business Collection: Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily

InfoTrac Small Business CollectionIdeal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Small Business Collection is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Complete: Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Hospitality & Tourism Index Complete contains full text for more than 200 journals, including over fifty that are not included in Business Source Complete.

More Databases

IBISWorld (U.S. Industry Reports)

Contains in-depth surveys of 723 industries. Reports are usually 30 to 50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months.

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.   New users must register at the login page using their UGA email address.

MRI University Internet Reporter

Data on product buying behavior and media habits of 27,000 adults.Data on buying behavior and media habits of U.S. adult consumers. 

Restricted: Creation of a Personal Profile with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database. Use Firefox or Internet Explorer for full functionality.  

NOTE: When you have logged all the way into MRI click on the Mediamark Reporter tab to access the data. 

Simmons Study of Media and Markets Consumer survey data on product buying behavior and media habits of 33,000 adults, 18 years of age and over. Offers the capability to crosstab demographic characteristics with types of brands and products.

Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts.

Factiva

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Reference USA

Provides directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private. The custom search tab provides multiple ways to retrieve a list of potential competitors including business type, size, and geography.  Includes radius searching.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708

Chat with a Librarian