Skip to main content

Fact Checking the News: Fact Checking Organizations & Bias Raters


Use the nonpartisan factchecking and bias-rating sources below to verify information that sounds too good, bad, or strange to be true.   If you can't find anything, consult the Do-It-Yourself fact-checking tools in the DIY pages of this guide
.

Non-Partisan Factchecking Websites in the US

Nonpartisan Fact-Checking Websites in the US:

FactCheck.org - (Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania). Fact checks political and scientific statements, videos etc., as well as talking points of political parties and presidential speeches.  If you run across a claim that hasn't been fact checked, you can submit it to this organization for review.  They have partnered with Facebook to factcheck Facebook posts flagged by Facebook users.  How to Flag Fake News on Facebook.

FlackCheck, a 'sister site' to factcheck.org offers "resources designed to help viewers recognize flaws in arguments in general and political ads in particular. Video resources point out deception and incivility in political rhetoric."

Snopes - Researches urban legends, Internet rumors, e-mail forwards, and other stories of questionable or unknown origin.

Factchecker - Run by journalist Glenn Kessler of the Washington Post, this site assesses claims made by politicians or political advocacy groups. 

Politifact - From the Tampa Bay Times.  Researches and rates the accuracy of claims made by national,state and local elected officials, candidates, leaders of political parties and political activists.

Punditfact - From the Tampa Bay Times. Researches and rates the accuracy of claims by "...pundits, columnists, bloggers, political analysts, the hosts and guests of talk shows, and other members of the media."

American Press Institute - Fact Checking Resources - Provides fact-checked answers to widely asked questions and the reliable sources they used to find those answers.  Topics covered are: Immigration, Healthcare, Economy, Campaigns & Voting, Records, Social Media Users, Social Media and Web Content, Photos and Video, Crime Public Health, and Climate Change.

WNYC's Breaking News Consumer's Handbooks  - Instead of fact-checking specific stories, offers a growing collection of handbooks focused on identifying common misrepresentations in stories on broad topics such as Protests, Islamophobia, Drug Abuse, and more.

Non Partisan Fact-Checking Sites Outside the US

Fact-checking sites outside the US cover issues in their own countries, but may also examine US issues of importance to their country.

Nonpartisan Fact-Checking Websites Outside the US:

Duke Reporter's Lab - Duke University.  Their fact-checking database links to over "...100 non-partisan organizations around the world that...assess the accuracy of statements made by public officials, political parties, candidates, journalists, news organizations, associations and other groups."  Includes several dozen fact-checking sites in the US.

EU vs Disinformation:  A site from the European Union, created to challenge disinformation coming out of Russia.

Full Fact - A nonprofit, independent fact-checking organization based in the UK.

Africa Check - Produces reports in English and French testing claims made by African public figures, institutions and the media against the best available evidence.

Chequeado - Created by the nonprofit La Voz Pública Foundation. Verifies statements made by public figures and other opinion-forming institutions, and classifies them, from true to false.

Bias Raters

These sources rate degree of bias (or outright fakery) in thousands of news sources.

Bias  unreliability.  A biased source that uses factual data and cites where it comes from can be reliable. But recognizing its bias will help you interpret its arguments. Interpretations of bias can differ - one person's 'right' or 'left' may be another's  'center'.  Check multiple sources and ultimately use your own judgment.

 Media Bias Fact Check - Evaluates over 1300 news sources for bias, and rates them on a continuum (left, left-center, least biased, right-center, right) using this methodology.  Also rates news sources on how factual their reporting is, and the quality of their sources, using a high / mixed / low scale. Provides lists of news sources that are 'fake', whether pseudoscience, conspiracy theory, or satire.

Websites that Post Fake and Satirical Stories - Factcheck.org has compiled a list of websites that publish fake or satirical stories, collected in the course of their fact checking work.  This list is continually updated.

Trace the Spread of a Claim on Social Media

Hoax-Slayer - Fact checks email and social media hoaxes, scams and identity theft.

Hoaxy: ( Indiana University's Center for Complex Networks and System Research).  Creates visuals that document the spread over time of articles, hoaxes, rumors, conspiracy theory, satire, as well as factual reports and fact checking articles. Includes account names and original tweets/retweets, as well as links to the original article.  Watch a How It Works tutorial.