Skip to main content

MBUS 3100: Promotion and Publicity Techniques: Home

Professor Alyssa De Hayes, Fall 2017

Google Tools

Google Alerts 

Monitor the web for interesting content

Google Analytics

Helps turn your customer insights into actionable solutions for your business

Google My Business

Google My Business connects you directly with customers, whether they're looking for you on Search, Maps, or Google+.

Google Places API

Make your app stand out with detailed information about 100 million places across a wide range of categories, from the same database as Google Maps and Google.+.

Google Trends

Explore past and present search trends

 

Mintel Reports

Consumer Research

Mediamark and Simmons are our two biggest databases for market research data. So, what's the difference between Simmons and Mediamark? Which one should you use? Do you have to use both?  A quick comparison of the two: 

  • Mediamark has more current data (~1.5 years)  than Simmons (3 years)
  • Simmons has "psychographics"; Mediamark does not.
  • Mediamark represents its data in tables, already compiled according to predetermined comparisons. Simmons requires you to build the table. Con: You have to build the table. Pro: You can compare any variable you want to any variable you want.
  • Mediamark offers certain pre-set filters for data (gender, age, etc.) Simmons allows you to filter data using any variable in their database.
  • Both can export data to Excel or .csv (comma separated values) files.

Trade Journals and News Sources

More Resources

ABI Inform includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.

Business Market Research Collection Database containing company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research.

Database Search Tips

Marketing & Distribution LibGuide

Music Periodicals Database International Index to Music Periodicals covers nearly all aspects of music from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. It provides bibliographic citations from nearly 400 journals published in 20 countries. It also indexes the feature music articles and obituaries that appear in The New York Times and The Washington Post.

Music Databases from Galileo

Science Library Makerspace The mission of the Science Library Makerspace is to foster an active-learning environment that inspires curiosity, exploration, critical thought, and innovative uses of technology that complement multidisciplinary curricular activities. The Science Library Makerspace cultivates discovery and hands-on learning that enhances intellectual curiosity and student success. The Makerspace is open to all UGA students, staff, faculty, and affiliates for educational, non-commercial uses.

Multi-Search

Search over ninety GALILEO databases plus the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.

 

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708

Tech Lending@MLC

Technology Lending at the Miller Learning Center

Currently enrolled undergraduate and graduate students may borrow laptops, tablets, DSLR cameras and accessories, camcorders, microphones, e-readers, charging cables, and more. This service is free of charge if items are returned on time, complete, and in working condition. We encourage students to use this equipment to create, learn, and explore the world around them!