Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies: Primary/Archival Sources

The Special Collections Libraries building on Hull Street houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Brown Media Archives and Peabody Collection. Materials in special collections libraries can be used by appointment. As soon as you know which special collections library you wish to use, contact the archivists to discuss your research.

UGA Libraries Special Collections are specialized archives holding original, rare, and irreplaceable materials.Specialized finding aids listed in this guide may help you do more detailed searches. Materials can be requested by clicking request buttons on records of materials in a special collection in the UGA Libraries catalog or in special collections finding aids.

Hargrett: Rare Book and Manuscript Library

The Hargrett Library focuses on Georgia history and culture, holding rare books and Georgiana, historical manuscripts, photographs, maps, broadsides, and UGA archives and records. Other areas of emphasis include performing arts and natural history. Holdings date from the 15th century to the present.

• LGBT Resource Center records: The University of Georgia's LGBT Resource Center is a campus organization in the Division of Student Affairs that works to support LGBT students on campus and around Athens through education and advocacy. While the Resource Center itself was founded in 2005, one of it's student groups, Lambda Alliance, has existed officially since 1995. The LGBT Resource Center's forerunner, the Committee on Gay Education (CGE), began at UGA in 1971 under the leadership of students Bill Green and John Goard.
• GLOBES (Gay, Lesbian or Bisexual Employees and Supporters) records: GLOBES (Gay, Lesbian or Bisexual Employees and Supporters) is a diverse organization of faculty, staff, graduate students and administrators whose mission is to advocate for, develop and nurture UGA's LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer) communities. According to their website the organization "strives to educate, to improve campus climate, and to foster progressive change as we visibly work for social justice, equity and LGBTQ rights at UGA and beyond."
• Annette Hatton papers : Annette Hatton served as managing editor of The Georgia Review at the University of Georgia for over 23 years. She co-founded GLOBES, UGA's LGBT Faculty/Staff Organization, in 1994 and served as the chair until 2008. She helped establish Athens Pride in 1998 and served as an LGBT Caucus delegate to the 2000 Democratic National Convention.

Richard B. Russell: Library for Political Research and Studies

The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies serves as a center for research and study of the modern American political system. The Library’s original mission was to collect and preserve materials that document the life and career of the late Richard B. Russell, United States Senator from Georgia from 1933 to 1971. With particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the U. S. Congress, current collection development and programming focus on the dynamic relationship of politics, policy, and culture—generated wherever public interest intersects with government. The breadth and depth of Russell Library’s collections provide an interconnected framework of perspectives and experiences for understanding the increasingly diverse people, events, and ideas shaping Georgia’s political landscape.

• American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia Records: The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) of Georgia is a nonprofit corporation founded in 1963 that is focused on protecting civil liberties in the state of Georgia. The records document their litigation and lobbying work, the subjects that they are concerned with, and their daily operations and include correspondence, case files, research files, and publications. Common subjects include the criminal justice system, freedom of religion, freedom of speech and assembly, LGBT rights, open government, racial discrimination, and student and juvenile rights
• C. Donald (Don) Johnson Papers, Record Group B: Congress: C. Donald (Don) Johnson Papers, Record Group B: Congress includes constituent services correspondence documenting a rich mix of issues from the early 1990s including Clinton’s health care plan, proposed tax increases, the implementation of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” relating to the sexual orientation of military personnel, abortion legislation, gun control, and the federal budget. The campaign series contains items pertaining to Johnson’s two campaigns for congress including: correspondence, information about campaign events, campaign ephemera, and clippings. Also found here is material documenting the activities of Johnson’s district office in Athens, Georgia.

The Walter J. Brown Media Archives & Peabody Awards Collection

The Walter J. Brown Media Archive & Peabody Awards Collection preserves over 250,000 titles in film, video, audiotape, transcription disks, and other recording formats dating from the 1920s to the present. Their mission is to preserve, protect, and provide access to the moving image and sound materials that reflect the collective memory of broadcasting and the history of the state of Georgia and its people.

• The Peabody Awards Collection is the archives for the George Foster Peabody Awards, the oldest and most prestigious award in electronic media. Recognizing "stories that matter" since 1940, the archives holds over 90,000 radio, television, and Web programs and over 1,000 feet of supporting documentation and artifacts. Over 1,500 programs in the Collection deal with LGBTQ issues, and a number of important programs on these and related topics have won Peabody Awards.  These include: “The Times of Harvey Milk” (1985), The Stonewall Uprising (2011) and “Queerskins: A Love Story” (2018).
• Newsfilm and News Video: Newsfilm was used in broadcast for television newscasts from 1948 until the 1970s, when stations transitioned to videotape for recording live news in the field. The Newsfilm and News Video collections include raw news footage from WSB-TV (Atlanta), WTOC (Savannah), and WRDW (Augusta) as well as airchecks (news broadcasts) from WSB-TV. Most topics covered by broadcast news in the state of Georgia from 1950-2008 can be found in these collections.
• IMAGE film and video collection: The collection consists of videotaped entries to the Atlanta Film Festival, including their gay and lesbian festival entries (both documentaries and drama). There are also many animated titles by artists such as Aardman Animations and animator Bill Plympton. In addition, there are festival promotional films consisting of compilations of festival entries.

Academic Search Complete  Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals, some in full text. Coverage dates vary by title, with more complete coverage in more recent years, ie 1990s-present, but some content goes back to 1895.

Archive.org Digital library of video, music, and text. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of web pages.

Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (1868-1984) For indexing for other years, see:

• Main Ref MFC AI21 .A710 Atlanta Journal Card Index, 1944-1979
• Main Ref AI21 .A7 Atlanta Constitution, 1971-1979 
• Main Ref AI21 .A71 Atlanta Journal, Atlanta Constitution Index, 1983-present

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Ethnic NewsWatch Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text from the 1990s-present.

FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room includes digitized records of FBI investigations of many famous people and organizations, including a number of interest to Civil Rights Era research

Films on Demand Over 7,000 educational films and newsreels online.

Georgia Government Publications Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government.

GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications) The U.S. Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog of Publications is a database consisting of citations to documents published by the GPO since July 1976. The Catalog includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. The print edition counterpart to this database has been published by the government under various titles since 1895.

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary.

Internet Archive Large collection of video and audio. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of web pages.

LexisNexis Academic Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Most articles are in full text. Coverage varies by title, with more complete coverage generally from the mid-1990s to the present.

New York Times Historical Full Text (1851-2006) 

Newspaper Source Plus Articles from national and regional newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. Coverage may be selective, dated 1994-present.

Official Index to The Times Index to articles in the Times of London from 1906 to 1980.

Patents at google.com Search through and find full texts of patents.

Periodicals Index Online Index to 18th-20th century periodicals in the humanities and social sciences (coverage dates 1770-1990).

Readers' Guide Retrospective Index  Index to popular magazines, like Time and Newsweek, 1890-1982

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. To search individual titles, click:   

• Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (1868-1945) (ProQuest)
• Christian Science Monitor Historical Full Text (1908-1995) (ProQuest)
• New York Times Historical Full Text (1851-2006) (ProQuest)
• Wall Street Journal Historical Full Text (1889-1991) (ProQuest)
• Washington Post Historical Full Text (1877-1993) (ProQuest)

Accessible Archives18th and 19th century American newspapers in full text.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO) American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.  

American Memory Project Digital library of the Library of Congress.

American Periodicals Series (APS) Online (1740-1900) (ProQuest) Full-text articles from over 1,100 American magazines published between 1741 and 1900. 

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 Full-text collection of American newspapers published from 1690 to 1876.

Patents at google.com Search through and find full texts of patents.

Periodicals Index Online Index to 18th-20th century periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.   

Poole's Plus (19th Century Masterfile) Combined, multi-subject periodical indexes covering 1786 to 1922.  

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) Index to popular magazines, 1890-1982. 

History of Women (guide to the collection)
Collection of pre-1920 literature about the role of women throughout history