Skip to main content

Newspapers at the UGA Libraries: How To...

A guide to finding newspapers online, in microfilm, and in print, at the UGA libraries, including historical and international newspapers.

How To...

FIND A NEWSPAPER BY TITLE

For online coverage through UGA subscriptions:

Many thousands of newspapers are available full-text online through UGA Libraries subscription databases, with both current and historical coverage. Search for the newspaper title in the Journal Citation Linker.  A pop-up will give links to online databases and indicate the years of full-text coverage available from each database.

For print or microfilm subscriptions at UGA:

Search the UGA Unified Newspaper Database or search the GIL catalog by title to find newspapers available on microfilm at the UGA Libraries. Microfilm is located in the basement of the Main Library and is organized by call number.

Also available is a guide to African-American Newspapers on Microfilm at the UGA Libraries. This guide provides a listing of all African-American newspapers held on microfilm at the University of Georgia Libraries. Includes listings by title, state, and chronologically. The microfilm is held in the basement of the Main Library.

Look for free digitized historical newspapers online:

Search NewspaperCat by title or location.

Don't know a title? 

  • The Georgia Newspaper Project lists GA newspaper titles by city, and can be useful for tracing title changes as local papers combined.
  • The Unified Newspaper Database is searchable by location. Enter a city, county, or state to view a list of newspapers available on microfilm.
  • Try a keyword search in GIL for the location name and "newspapers".

 

FIND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES ON A TOPIC

Current or Recent News

You can search these large databases by keyword to find full-text news articles on a specific topic.

  • Access World News - U.S. newspapers (local, regional, and national) and international sources, 1990-present
  • Newspaper Source Plus - national and regional newspapers, dates vary by publication
  • Nexis Uni - national and international news sources, dates vary by publication
  • ProQuest Newsstand - leading newspapers throughout the world, dates vary by publication
  • Ethnic NewsWatch - minority and ethnic press, 1959-present
  • Factiva - national and international news sources, dates vary by publication

 

Historical News

The UGA Libraries offer access to many online databases that provide full-text articles from historical newspapers.

We also have print volumes indexing historical newspapers, allowing you to look up a keyword or subject and see on what dates articles were published relating to it.  Armed with the date and page number, you can then find the microfilm of the newspaper (by looking in the UGA Unified Newspaper Database or GIL catalog) and go directly to the relevant article. 

Lists of these indexes are available under the tabs for Georgia, National, and International Newspapers in this guide.

 

FIND INFORMATION ABOUT NEWSPAPERS

Looking for information about a newspaper, its circulation, history, or parent company?  Try the following sources:

  • Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory or Ulrich's Web (password required)
    Z6941.P455 (Main 2nd floor)
  • Look in a business database for information about parent companies (financials, public/private, history, etc).

Your Librarian

Eric Griffith's picture
Eric Griffith
Contact:
(706) 542-1137

ecg@uga.edu