GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Textiles: Books

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Locating Books in the Stacks

Depending on what you are looking for, our collections can be found in several locations.

Main Library 2nd Floor

GT165-476 Houses. Dwellings
GT500-2370 Costume. Dress. Fashion

Main Library 7th Floor

TT1-999 Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
TT161-170.7 Manual training. School shops
TT174-176 Articles for children
TT180-200 Woodworking. Furniture making. Upholstering
TT201-203 Lathework. Turning
TT205-267 Metalworking
TT300-382.8 Painting. Wood finishing
TT387-410 Soft home furnishings
TT490-695 Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring
TT697-927 Home arts. Homecrafts Including sewing, embroidery, decorative crafts

Science Library 3rd Floor

TS200-770 Metal manufactures. Metalworking
TS780-788 Stonework
TS800-937 Wood technology. Lumber
TS840-915 Wood products. Furniture
TS920-937 Chemical processing of wood
TS1300-1865 Textile industries

Reference & Recent Books

Borderless Fashion Practice by Vanessa Gerrie Twenty-first century fashion practice has become increasingly borderless and diverse in the digital era, calling into question the very boundaries that define fashion in the Western cultural context. Borderless Fashion Practice: Contemporary Fashion in the Metamodern Age principally engages the work of four fashion designers -- Virgil Abloh, Aitor Throup, Iris Van Herpen, and Eckhaus Latta -- whose work intersects with other creative disciplines such as art, technology, science, architecture, and graphic design. They do their work in what Vanessa Gerrie calls the metamodern age -- the time and place where the polarization between the modern and the postmodern collapses. Used as a framework to understand the current Western cultural zeitgeist, Gerrie's exploration of the work of contemporary practitioners and theorists finds blurred borders and seeks to blur them further, to the point of erasure.
ISBN: 9781978834392
Publication Date: 2023-06-16
A Cultural History of Fashion in the 20th and 21st Centuries by Bonnie English This new edition of a bestselling textbook is designed for students, scholars, and anyone interested in 20th century fashion history.Accessibly written and well illustrated, the book outlines the social and cultural history of fashion thematically, and contains a wide range of global case studies on key designers, styles, movements and events.The new edition has been revised and expanded- there are new sections on eco-fashion, fashion and the museum, major changes in the fashion market in the 21st century (including the impact of new media and retailing networks), new technologies, fashion weeks, the rise of asian fashion centers and more. There are twice as many illustrations.In its second edition, A Cultural History of Fashion in the 20th and 21st Centuries is the ideal introductory text for all students of fashion.
ISBN: 0857851349
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Developing a Fashion Collection by Elinor Renfrew; Todd Lynn How do fashion designers conceive of, develop and ultimately launch commercially and creatively successful collections? Developing a Fashion Collection walks you through the process, exploring research techniques, sources of inspiration, forecasting trends and designing for different markets. From couture to high street, knitwear to accessories and covering the implications of online shopping - there's advice on every aspect of creating your collection through 27 insightful interviews with international practitioners. Interviewees include John Mooney, Brand Creative Director at ASOS and Jane Palmer Williams, Head of Executive Development at LVMH.This 3rd edition also covers silhouette, fittings and final samples, sustainable practice, developing high street collections, fabric selection and finding inspiration through vintage designs.
ISBN: 9781350132559
Publication Date: 2021-09-09
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Fashion by Sandra Keiser; Phyllis G. Tortora This seminal text demystifies the terminology of working in the fashion industry today, providing definitions of processes, techniques, features, and even some historical terms that you need to know. The dictionary now includes coverage of sustainability, smart materials, new technologies, and processes. This book has been reorganized in a purely alphabetical order for easy reference. Lavishly illustrated with over 800 illustrations capturing the styles and details of fashion, this reference work is a must have for students, designers, fashion merchandisers, librarians, and fashion enthusiasts.
ISBN: 9781501366697
Publication Date: 2021-11-04
Fashion by Marnie Fogg
Call Number: Main Ref TT504 .F36 2013
ISBN: 9783791347615
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
Fashion Aesthetics and Ethics by Louise Wallenberg (Editor); Andrea Kollnitz (Editor) How are aesthetics and ethics related to the practical realities of the global fashion industry? Both have played an important role in academic fashion studies to this point, but they are most often discussed in the context of abstract phenomena such as modernity and capitalism, or identity issues such as sexuality, class and gender. The essays in this volume strive instead to show how the realities of the global fashion industry have important and pertinent aesthetic and ethical consequences. This collection provides critical and philosophical analysis of the interplay of aesthetics and ethics within the global fashion industry. Characterized by an increasingly fast spinning production, the industry is highly exploitative in terms of environment and labor force: underpaid textile workers, retailers working under brutal competition from the mass-merchandise discounters, young designers, seamstresses and curators often working for free, and a vast body of aspiring models. In addition, fashion-related aesthetic ideals are becoming more influential than ever in directing consumers in their social and personal identification processes and bodily practices with sometimes fatal consequences. Covering a wide range of subjects such as fashion's highly problematic production and consumption practices, the possibility of producing and consuming fashion ethically, fashion's intimate connection with nature and technology, Fashion Aesthetics and Ethics highlights the powerful aesthetical presence of fashion in relation to its ethical premises and often problematic outcomes.
ISBN: 9781350198524
Publication Date: 2023-06-01
Fashion Design, Referenced by Alicia Kennedy; Emily Banis Stoehrer; Jay Calderin (As told to); Emily Banis Stoehrer
Call Number: Main Ref TT515 .K45 2013
ISBN: 9781592536771
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Fashion Design Research Second Edition by Ezinma Mbeledogu Every fashion collection begins with research. But how do you start? How do you use that research? Fashion Design Research answers these questions and demystifies the process. The book begins with the basics of primary and secondary research sources and shows students how and where to gather information. Chapters on colour, fabric and market research are followed by the final chapter on concept development, which shows how to gather all the information together, featuring one research project from beginning to end. This revised edition includes updated images and new case studies, plus more on ethics, sustainability and research methods.
ISBN: 9781913947668
Publication Date: 2022-01-18
Fashion DICT by Guido Vergani (Editor)
Call Number: Main Ref TT503 .F374 2006
ISBN: 9788860730152
Publication Date: 2006-12-20
Fashion Portfolio by Tamara Albu; Michelle Nahum-Albright Personal strategy and clear identity are key to successfully presenting yourself as a designer within the fashion industry. Fashion Portfolio: Create, Curate, Innovate is a practical guide to a forward-reaching portfolio, emphasizing the value of personalized storytelling. Its focus is in helping designers reach visual and conceptual clarity in representing their potential. As part of a personal brand strategy, the portfolio becomes a stronger sales tool. This is why the book also explores research, personal branding, presentation materials, online presentation, interview technique and follow up. The book also includes a section on different fashion professional paths providing invaluable career advice not just for aspiring designers but all those looking to evolve in the fashion industry. Case studies from successful recent graduates working across the world offer further insight on how to make your mark.
ISBN: 9781913947927
Publication Date: 2023-03-14
Historical Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion by Amy Twigger Holroyd; Jennifer Farley Gordon; Colleen Hill For centuries, the fashion industry has struggled to reconcile style with sustainability. In Historical Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion, you will be transported back in time to discover the historical dimensions of today's sustainable fashion movement. An array of success stories and cautionary tales provide both inspiration and warnings for the eco-conscious designer, encouraging an innovative approach that builds on predecessors' discoveries to move the practice of fashion forward. The 1st edition, Sustainable Fashion: Past, Present and Future, emerged from the Museum at FIT's groundbreaking exhibition 'Eco-Fashion: Going Green'. This revised edition broadens perspectives even further, incorporating eye-opening examples of designers, brands and activists working for change across the world today. Likewise, a new chapter examines the globalized mainstream fashion system and historical alternatives that provide compelling inspiration for reimagining the status quo. Fascinating and timely, Historical Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion examines progressive fashion through a historical lens, encouraging readers to question the state of the industry and demonstrating the value of historical insights in enabling and inspiring change.
ISBN: 9781350160446
Publication Date: 2023-02-09
History of International Fashion by Didier Grumbach
Call Number: Main Ref TT504.6.F7 G7813 2014
ISBN: 9781566569767
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Regenerative Fashion by Safia Minney As our climate, ecological and social crises converge, urgent action is needed to maximize our chances of survival. A new commercial approach is possible but it requires a systemic shift, with companies learning to operate as part of a wider 'ecosystem', allowing fashion to restore what it has taken. Regenerative Fashion presents a roadmap for new ways of doing fashion. To keep our planet safe, we must cut production and end our dependency on fossil fuels. We must also create dignified livelihoods for the millions of people working in the industry. By using natural resources, paying factory workers and farmers a living wage and scaling up craft production, we can not only rebuild soils, ecosystems and biodiversity, but also support decarbonization, regenerate communities and ensure a just transition for all. Part guide and part manifesto, this book shares stories of our interconnectedness with the natural world and each other, divided into sections on Nature & Materials; People, Livelihoods & Crafts; and New Economy & Leadership. Fully illustrated throughout, it features interviews from best-practice designers and businesses around the world, as well as thought pieces from leading campaigners within the industry.
ISBN: 9781529419924
Publication Date: 2022-11-29

Your Librarian