Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Social Work: Bills & Laws

Find statistical information sources

Bills (Georgia)

2001-present

Georgia General Assembly - Search Legislation
Includes prefiles, first readers, and bills passed and signed by the governor. Provides a handy guide to the different stages of passing a bill. "Composites" provide final daily status of all bills introduced during a session including all actions taken on the bill, starting with the 2007-08 session.

To bring up years before the present session, click on "First Readers" or "Prefiles," and then select the desired session. 

OpenStates.org

"Recently introduced" feature lets you see what legislation has been newly introduced to the General Assembly. Can search bills before the Georgia General Assembly here.

Acts (Georgia Session Laws)

Georgia Laws
(other titles: Georgia Session Laws / Acts and resolutions of the General Assembly of the state of Georgia)

2000-present:
Georgia Government Publications: Acts and Resolutions of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia

Bills (U.S. Congress)

All years

Legislative Insight (Proquest) 

Offers in-depth legislative histories of thousands of U.S. public laws.  Includes various versions of the enacted bill.  This is a work in progress--years and public laws covered are being updated continuously.

1989-present

Congress.gov
Congress.gov provides full text of multiple versions of bills. Additional information includes sponsors, related bills, and final status. You can search bills by keyword and narrow down your results by session of Congress, chamber of Congress, subject, and committee.

Proquest Congressional  

Provides multiple versions of bills. Search in: Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section

Public Laws (U.S.)

FDsys (Government Printing Office), 1995- 
Browse public laws by year and public law numerical order.

United States Statutes at Large

Annual volume(s) includes the text of public laws and other statutory documents (such as executive orders) issued during that year. Index and table of contents included.

Online

1789- (HeinOnline)
1951~ (FDsys)
1988 ~ (LexisNexis Academic) 

Under US Legal / Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations: Select Public Laws. Search by citation or keyword.

Citing Bills and Laws in APA

APA Style logo