Access to all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Digital, spanning the 15th-21st centuries.
Access to all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Digital, spanning the 15th-21st centuries. Over 60 digital collections supporting research in history, literature, gender studies, race relations, popular culture, and many other areas of the humanities and social sciences, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives. The collections can be searched individually or combined into a single federated search.
Primary sources on the African-American community experience in selected U.S. cities.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina from the early 19th century through the present, this primary source collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community experience through pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African-American culture and identity.
Multi-archive primary-source collection dedicated to the history of exploration across five centuries.
Multi-archive primary-source collection dedicated to the history of exploration from the 15th to the 20th century. This collection includes rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs from some of the most well-known voyages in history, and audio-visual resources. Key themes covered include planning and financing of expeditions, ships and provisions, navigation, life at sea, trade, scientific observation, and encounters with indigenous peoples.
Primary source accounts from Americans in World War II
Digitized from the extensive collections held by The National WWII Museum, New Orleans, this database contains oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records from military personnel in the army, navy and air force, to the marines, merchant marines, coast guard, women’s forces and medical personnel involved in all major theaters of operations. From enlistment and training to deployment on the US home front or on campaigns overseas, the personal stories of these men and women demonstrate the broad spectrum of American involvement in the conflict and how the war changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and their families, and the legacy of the war in human terms.
Over 60,000 primary source documents on American history
This database contains over 60,000 digitized primary source documents, including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps. The content comes from the Gilder Lehrman Collection at the New York Historical Society.
Primary sources on North American Indian history, 16th to 20th centuries
This database contains primary sources relating to North American Indian history from the earliest contacts between American Indians and Europeans through the civil rights movement of the 20th century. The documents come from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection, and cover themes such as cultural encounters, government relations, missionary activity, trade, and military conflicts.
This database contains the digital editions of 45 American Indian newspapers from the US and Canada, dating from 1828 to 2016, though most of the papers were founded in the 1970s or later. The collection includes English-only, bilingual, and indigenous-language papers. Long runs of titles such as Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, the Cherokee Phoenix and the Navajo Times are covered.
Primary sources relating to the history of the American West
This database contains digital primary sources relating to the history of the American West, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, artwork, photographs, financial records, claim certificates, and wanted posters. Topics covered include travel and exploration, Native American history and culture, the Gold Rush, agricultural change, urban development, and expansion of the railways.
Primary sources from the British government on apartheid in South Africa, 1948-1980
This database makes available British government files on South Africa from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices, beginning with the launch of apartheid policies in 1948 that legally entrenched white dominance over South African politics, society and business. Documents include letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events.
Burney digital collection of British newspapers from the 17th-18th centuries
The Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. This searchable digital collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form. Gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), a notable scholar and son of a well-known music historian of the same name, this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts, explanations, and points of view represented in approximately 1,270 titles spanning from Parliamentary papers and the London daily news to the latest English humor of the 1600s.
Primary sources relating to relationships between America, China and the Pacific region, 18th-20th centuries
This databases explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Primary source documents include manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives.
Digital primary sources relating to China, 1750-1929
This digital collection is drawn from the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. The pamphlets have all been digitized in color and are full-text searchable. Many are illustrated and feature lavish cover art. Most are in English and date from 1750 to1929. The subject focus is the history and culture of China as well as the history of the Chinese in the Western world.
Digital primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980
This database contains digital primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980, including letters, diaries, missionary periodicals, maps, photographs, and artwork. Most sources are in English and fully searchable.
Primary source periodicals from missionary organizations, 1804-2009
This database features primary source publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009. These societies were active in Africa, the Mediterranean, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas.
Digital primary source British documents on colonial America, 1606-1822
This database makes available in searchable digital format all records from the Colonial Office CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. The CO 5 series consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.
Digital primary source British documents on Africa, 1820-1970
The Confidential Print database includes the most important papers relating to Africa issued by the British Foreign and Colonial offices between 1820 and 1970. The documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. Together they cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the African continent from the British Government’s perspective.
Digital British government primary sources relating to Latin America, 1833-1969
The Confidential Print database includes the most important papers relating to Latin America issued by the British Foreign and Colonial offices between 1833 and 1969. The documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Digital primary source British documents relating to the Middle East, 1838-1969
The Confidential Print database includes the most important papers relating to the Middle East issued by the British Foreign and Colonial offices between 1839 and 1969. The documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties.
Digital primary source British documents relating to North America, 1824-1961
The Confidential Print database includes the most important papers relating to North America issued by the British Foreign and Colonial offices between 1824 and 1961. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century. The documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. Geographic coverage includes the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
Primary sources relating to gender studies from British archives.
This database explores the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture with primary source material from British archives. Types of documents in the database include pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, receipt books, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and conduct and advice literature.
DIS is an online education and entertainment channel with videos added weekly. Their curriculum explores who we are and where we are going.
The issues that matter are increasingly complex. We need new ways of receiving the knowledge we crave. Dis streams engaging, informative short videos featuring leading artists, writers, and thinkers. Each video proposes a question, a solution or a new way of looking at our changing reality.
East India Company primary source records from the British Library, 1599-1947
This database provides access to a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
Archive of John Larpent plays from the Huntington Library, 1737-1824
This database contains over 2,500 plays preserved by John Larpent and taken from the Huntington Library, covering almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824. Also included are the diaries of Larpent's wife and professional collaborator Anna, recording her criticisms of plays as well as insights into theatrical culture and English society. In addition, this resource features correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisement, historical information, and visual material which lend social context to the plays.
Full-text journals printed between 1685 and 1835 in Britain, Ireland, and selected British colonies
This database brings together journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life in Britain, Ireland, and selected British colonial holdings such as India and Canada. Included are news and political journals; religious publications; literary and theater titles; and journals written for and by women.
Primary sources on colonial history, politics, culture and society
This collection contains primary sources relating to colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the rise and fall of empires, from the age of exploration through to de-colonization in the second half of the twentieth century. The sources are drawn from a wide range of archival institutions, with a particularly strong core of documents and images from the British Library.
Historical collection of film and television industry magazines
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive has the full text of ten major U.S. and U.K. trade magazines in film and television published between 1911-2000. UGA has access to the first "Cinema, Film, and Television Collection" with the following magazines:
American Film (US, 1975-1992)
Boxoffice (US, 1920-2000)
Broadcasting (US, 1931-2000)
Broadcast (UK, 1960-2000)
Contrast (UK, 1961-1965)
Film Journal International (US, 1934-2000)
Film Weekly (UK, 1928-1939)
Picturegoer (UK, 1911-1960)
Screen International (UK, 1975-2000)
Variety (US, 1905-2000)
Audio field recordings and interviews in ethnomusicology
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, this database is comprised of over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists dating from the mid-twentieth century to the early twenty-first century. The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments.
Primary sources on women's history in America, 1800-1920
This database contains thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
The First World War database makes available primary sources for the study of the war, brought together in four thematic modules: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives; and Global Conflict. From manuscripts and printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, the content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict.
This database contains primary sources documenting the story of food and drink from the 16th through the early 21st centuries. Sources include printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content. Digitized from institutions across the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia, the collection is focused on presenting as global a view on food history as possible. This resource helps to illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production
Database of all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980
This database contains all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980 and consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials.
Database of British Foreign Office files dealing with India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
This database contains British government documents relating to India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980. It includes the complete run of British Foreign Office documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. The files address these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, they deal with such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press.
Database of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952
This database contains British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan, 1919-1952, taken from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers. These files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Contents include diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material.
Database of British Foreign Office files dealing with the Middle East, 1971-1981
This database contains British Foreign Office files dealing with the Middle East between 1971 and 1981 and consisting of diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles. It addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.
Primary sources on colonial frontier regions in North America, Africa, and Australasia, 1650-1920
This database contains primary sources on colonial frontier regions in North America, Africa, and Australasia, 1650-1920. The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century, but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. A portion of the collection in the George Arthur papers relates to British Honduras (Belize) in Central America. The documents address the exploration of these regions followed by trade with native peoples, colonial rivalries, expansion of government and new nations and the final settlement and 'closing' of the frontier. Types of material included are correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets.
Primary sources on gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.
This database contains primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present, including women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment and labour, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Types of sources represented include pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, and newspaper clippings, as well as a rich selection of visual material such as photographs, illustrations, posters, scrapbooks and objects.
Printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
This database provides primary source documents on the history of fifteen major commodities and the ways they have changed the world: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, precious metals, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine. Source documents include business accounts, mercantile papers and correspondence, government reports, pamphlets, dock records, statistical reports, historical maps, advertising memorabilia and ephemera, including posters and packaging, and artwork.
Primary sources on the history of South Asia, 1615-1947
This database contains primary sources relating to the history of South Asia, 1615-1947, drawn from the National Library of Scotland. The materials include diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
Database of documents from the J. Walter Thompson company archive, late 19th century through the 1990s
This database makes available a large portion of the documents in the J. Walter Thompson archive held at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University. The J. Walter Thompson archive consists of publications, reports, research, memoranda, correspondence, meeting minutes, creative briefs, scripts, speeches, newsletters, artwork and advertisements created by the staff of J. Walter Thompson. The documents range from the late nineteenth century up until the late 1990s with the bulk representing the post-1945 world.
Primary sources on Jewish life in America, 1654-1954
This database contains primary sources on Jewish life in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century through to the mid-20th century. The material is drawn from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York and includes organizational records as well as collections of personal papers.
Primary sources on British and American tourism, 1850-1980
This database contains primary sources documenting the evolution of British and American working-class tourism from 1850 to 1980. Representing destinations on every continent visited by the average traveller, sources include travel magazines, photographs, advertising brochures, guidebooks, travel accounts, posters and scrapbooks. Also included are records from the archives of Thomas Cook, the world's oldest travel agency.
Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library
This database contains literary manuscripts from the Victorian era drawn from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library. Sources include unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts, drawings and personal correspondence.
17th and 18th-century poetry manuscripts from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds
This database contains complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts (over 6,600 individual poems) of 17th and 18th-century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Alongside original compositions are painstakingly copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. The collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays. Additional features include interactive essays, biographies, a palaeography section with transcriptions and alphabets, and a large selection of colour images demonstrating over 320 examples of 17th and 18th century English handwriting .
Primary source archive from the The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, London, 1554-2007
This database contains primary source records from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, London, 1554-2007. It supports research on the history of printing, publishing, the book trade, copyright, and the city of London. Types of records represented include the Entry Book of Copies, membership records, court records, English stock documents, and treasurers' vouchers.
Primary sources on popular and working-class culture in London, 18th-20th centuries
This database contains primary sources on popular and working-class culture in London from the 18th through the early 20th centuries. Types of sources represented include posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides, penny fiction, chapbooks, cartoons, street cries, Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens, reform literature, and maps and views of London.
Digitized cabinet minutes and memoranda from Great Britain during Harold Macmillan's service as Prime Minister, 1957-1963
This database provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) of Harold Macmillan’s government, 1957-1963, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134). Files from the Prime Minister's Private Office (PREM 11) are also included.
Market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, 1935-1965
This database contains market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, 1935-1965. Dichter was a highly influential consultant who produced thousands of reports commissioned by advertising agencies and global businesses on many of America's best known brands. Dichter's research methods aimed to uncover consumers' unconscious motivations and the deeper meanings they associated with products and services.
Primary sources on everyday life in Britain, 1930s-1950s
This database makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, founded in 1937 and active through the 1950s. The organization's aim was to create an 'anthropology of ourselves' by studying the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain. The content of the archive can be divided into two main types: material collected by paid investigators consisting of "overheards" and covert observations of the general public, as well as thematic studies, and material submitted by volunteers, who gathered more personal testimony from individuals.
Primary sources relating to war and medicine, 1850s-1920s
This database contains primary sources relating to war and medicine between the 1850s and 1920s. Conflicts covered include the Crimean War, American Civil War, the Boer Wars, the Spanish-American War and the First World War. Topic areas focus on on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line; sanitation; nursing care; and scientific discoveries. Types of sources include first-hand accounts, hospital records, and medical reports.
Primary source database of five major letter collections from fifteenth century England
This database contains primary sources in the form of letters from five fifteenth-century English families: Paston, Cely, Stonor, Plumpton, and Armburgh. Full-color digital images of the original medieval manuscripts that constitute these letter collections are presented here alongside fully searchable transcriptions drawn from available printed editions. The database supports research on medieval marriage, inheritance, estate management, women, children, acts of violence; law suits and everyday social and domestic life.
Manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period.
This database presents primary source manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Middle East. It features a number of medieval maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts.
Digital collection of the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) on Meiji Japan
This database contains the digitized papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) on Meiji Japan from the collection held by the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum. Morse, a scholar of natural history, ethnography and art history, was one of the first Americans to live in Japan and document life there before it was transformed by Western modernization.
Database of primary sources on migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
This database contains primary sources on migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Most of the content dates from the 19th and 20th centuries. The sources include letter collections, travel journals, diaries, oral histories, scrapbooks, government papers, emigration pamphlets, shipping documents, hand-drawn maps, and artworks.
Digital collection of British newspapers from the 17-18th centuries
The Nichols Newspapers were digitized from the collection of John Nichols (1745–1826), a printer and former Master of the Stationers’ Company. Not only did Nichols collect newspapers, he also made them available to scholars, a tradition continued by the Bodleian Library, where the originals are held and now by Gale in searchable online format. The collection contains over 150,000 pages of printed text from over 300 titles, spanning nearly 100 years of history.
Digitized British Foreign and Commonwealth Office records relating to Anglo-American relations during Richard Nixon's presidency, 1969-1974
This database provides complete Foreign and Commonwealth Office records (FCO 7 and FCO 82) from The National Archives, Kew (Britain), for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency. It offers a different perspective and context from across the Atlantic, providing coverage of top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.
Digitized manuscripts by early-modern women authors
This database contains over 230 digital facsimiles drawn from the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. “Perdita” means “lost woman” and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
Database of primary sources documenting changes in music, fashion, youth culture, and politics from 1950 to 1975.
This database contains primary sources documenting changes in music, fashion, youth culture, and politics from 1950 to 1975 in Britain and America. Sources include pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period; underground magazines and fanzines; photographs, posters, and video; record company documents, artist files, and chart lists.
Database of primary sources documenting the history of popular medicine in America, 1800-1900
This database contains primary sources documenting the history of popular medicine in America, 1800-1900. The material covers popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy, and documents the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids. The emphasis is on medical information directed at the "man in the street" rather than medical professionals. Sources include domestic medicine guidebooks, educational pamphlets, advertisements, and sales documents from stores selling medical products
Dissertations and theses from academic institutions around the world, including UGA beginning with Fall 2019. Earlier UGA theses and dissertations are in the 'Electronic Theses & Dissertations' database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text provides full text access to about 1.9 million dissertations and theses granted by academic institutions worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Basic information for a smaller number of dissertations and theses that are not available in full text is also included in this database.
Digital literary resources on the Romantic period from the Wordsworth Trust
This database offers digital literary resources on the Romantic period from the Wordsworth Trust. Sources include prose and verse manuscripts, working notebooks, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, legal and financial records, maps and fine art.
Database of over 200 service newspapers published during World War Two
This database contains over 200 digitized service newspapers published during World War Two. Such newspapers served multiple purposes, including keeping soldiers informed about the general progress of the war; covering local news where the soldiers were stationed; reporting on life back at home; and offering entertainment. These primary sources are rich in social and cultural history, and provide a unique perspective on the local and global experience of the war.
Primary sources on sex and sexuality from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections, Indiana University.
Before gaining access to the database contents, users are asked to confirm that they are over the age of consent and aware that the database contains sexually explicit material.
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. The digitized resources are drawn from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections and include correspondence, research papers and records spanning the tenures of the first three Institute directors; Dr Alfred C. Kinsey (1947-1956), Dr Paul H. Gebhard (1956-1982) and Dr June Reinisch (1982-1993). The content includes explicitly sexual material.
Digitized prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
This database contains digital editions of over 1,000 prompt books (scripts of the plays marked up for performance) of 34 of Shakespeare’s plays, including editions owned by notable actors and directors such as Charles and John Philip Kemble, Henry Irving, Ellen Terry and Laurence Olivier.
Archive of performance-related resources from the reconstructed Globe Theatre in London
The reconstructed Globe Theater aims to recreate the playing conditions for which Shakespeare wrote with an aim of deepening understanding of the plays by experiencing them in something approaching their original context with the theatre open air, much of the audience standing and sharing light with the actors. The performance archive, focusing on the years from 1997 to 2016, shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked; how props were used; and how the audiences behaved. The architectural archive contains material from the 1980s onward on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions.
Digital primary-source documents on slavery, abolition, and social justice
This collection contains digital primary-source documents on slavery, abolition, and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world. Covering the period 1490 to 2007, and designed for both teaching and research, it provides resources relating to the African coast; the Middle Passage; the varieties of slave experience (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch and plantation); spiritualism and religion; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement; legislation; education; the legacy of slavery and slavery today.
Documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.
Socialism on Film is a collection of digitized documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. Its timeframe ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s. Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI) archives, this database makes available the ETV-Plato Films collection put together by the British communist Stanley Forman in the years after the Second World War. The films were produced almost exclusively in the communist world and then versioned into English for distribution in the West, and they cover all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs.
SportBusiness is the most trusted global intelligence service, providing unique news, analysis, data, consulting and events which deliver competitive advantage to executives in the business of sport.
SportBusiness is the most trusted global intelligence service, providing unique news, analysis, data, consulting and events which deliver competitive advantage to executives in the business of sport. SportBusiness is at the heart of the sports industry, close to the decision-makers who are driving the sector. Up-to-date information and a global perspective. Full-text
Stuart and Cumberland Papers digitized from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle (State Papers Online)
Covering the history of the Jacobite movement from the Glorious Revolution in 1688 to the death of the last Stuart heir, Henry Benedict, Cardinal Duke of York, in 1807, The Stuart Papers provide intimate insights into the social, military and personal worlds of the Jacobite claimants and their followers. These documents include the private and diplomatic correspondence of James II alongside that of his son, James Francis Edward Stuart, “The Old Pretender”, and grandsons Charles Edward Stuart, “The Young Pretender”, also known as “Bonnie Prince Charlie” and Henry Benedict Stuart, Cardinal Duke of York. Together with communications from the nobles, exiles, soldiers and spies who made up the European Jacobite network, this collection documents the
attempts of the Stuart pretenders to regain the British throne, most significantly through the Jacobite risings of 1715 and 1745-1746, and provides a valuable insight into the daily workings of the exiled Stuart court. The Cumberland Papers, the papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, the second surviving son of
George II, provide a Hanoverian counterpoint to the Stuart Papers, and an unparalleled insight into eighteenth century military matters and British foreign policy.
Primary sources by English travelers in Europe, 1550-1850
This database contains the digitized writings of English travelers abroad in Europe; taking a "grand tour" of Europe was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men. Sources include letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps. There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning. The database also contains primary sources on daily life in early-modern and eighteenth-century Europe, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.
This database contains digitized American trade catalogs for domestic products covering the period from 1850 to 1950. These primary sources support research into popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology. Catalogs included in this databases were drawn from the Lawrence B. Romaine collection at the University of California, Santa Barbara and the Winterthur Library and Hagley Museum and Library.
Primary source database of women's travel writing, 19th-20th centuries
This database brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Forms of travel writing represented include unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence, drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
Primary sources on Victorian popular culture in Britain and America
This database contains primary sources on Victorian popular culture in Britain and America, divided into four modules: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema. Types of digitized documents include books, cabinet cards, children's literature, correspondence, diaries, engravings, ephemera, films, handbills, manuscripts, memorabilia, memoirs of show-people, pamphlets, periodicals, photographs, postcards, posters, scrapbooks, scripts, and sheet music.
Digital primary sources from the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624
This database presents over 3,000 digital primary sources relating to the Virginia Company of London from its founding in 1606 to 1624 when it came under the direct rule of the British crown. Sources include the Ferrar Papers from Magdalene College, Cambridge and the Records of the Virginia Company of London.
Primary sources from the British National Archives on women's suffrage
This database provides primary sources from the British National Archives on the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. It also includes a finding aid to assist researchers in identifying National Archives documents relating to women on a broader range of subjects such as abortion, clothing, divorce, domestic work, education, employment, health, marriage, maternity, prostitution, trade unions, and women's organizations.
Primary sources on over 200 world's fairs, 1851-2015
This database contains primary sources on world's fairs, beginning with what many consider the first world’s fair, the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London, 1851, and following through to documents as recent as Milan’s successful bid to host Expo 2015. While over 200 fairs are represented, 12 expositions are explored more extensively as ‘case-study fairs’. The largest concentration of documents relates to fairs from the late Victorian-early Edwardian era of 1880-1920: the ‘golden age’ of expositions. Sources include official records, monographs, personal accounts and ephemera.