ABI/INFORM Complete includes all articles, working papers, and other content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:
Global company information and U.S. consumer and industry data
Mergent Intellect replaces Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database.
Mergent Intellect includes:
- Global company information on around 280,000,000 public and private businesses including corporate family tree data and executive contacts.
- U.S. consumer demographic and lifestyle data including Prizm reports from Nielsen
- First Research industry reports and key business ratios on hundreds of industries. NOTE: When you enter the First Research industry reports module within Mergent Intellect you will be required to submit an email address.
- U.S. demographic data from the Census Bureau
- Mergent Intellect also pulls financial and other corporate data for U.S. publicly traded companies from the database, Mergent Online.
IBISWorld: U.S. Industry Reports contains in-depth surveys over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Reports are usually 30-50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months.
In-depth market research reports on U.S. and European consumer products.
Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior. Please note: This database is limited to 50 concurrent users.
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior and media habits of about 25,000 adults, 18 years of age and over. Data is about 3 years old. Crosstabs offers the capability to cross-tabulate demographic characteristics with types or brands of products, media preferences, and consumer attitudes. Brand Catalyst (replacing MRI University Reporter) displays the index and reach values for a pre-formatted range of attitude statements, top brand and media preferences, and demographics for every item / response in the survey.
Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Policy Map.
PolicyMap has more than 37,000 continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Their GIS data is available for geographies across the U.S. often at neighborhood scale geographies such as Census tracts and block groups.
Key financial data of U.S.private companies. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database
PrivCo provides key financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private U.S. companies. Amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database
Global case studies on many business-related subjects
SAGE Business Cases offers more than 5000 authoritative cases from over 120 countries relevant to many academic disciplines. Includes cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.
Business-related articles from many peer-reviewed and other journals, reports, company profiles, and other sources.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Find popular and scholarly articles on communication and mass media studies, including some full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text. The database is the result of the merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies - CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Penn State University. In addition to the content of these two databases, CMMC offers full text for over 160 major communication and mass media journals that were not previously covered by CommSearch or Mass Media Articles Index. In total, more than 285 journals will be indexed and abstracted in their entirety in CMMI, while approximately 100 more journals will be indexed selectively.
Why recommend a psychology database to advertising students? Because psychologists do a lot of research about advertising, its influence, its effectiveness, and so on. That's why.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.
Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.
The APA also offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.
New York Times & Wall Street Journal Access
UGA Faculty, staff, and students now enjoy full digital access to the New York Times via a free online subscription through the UGA Libraries. The subscription also includes access to The Athletic, the online sporting news publication owned by the publisher. Register for your New York Times account at this link, by choosing University of Georgia - Athens, GA from the drop-down menu and entering your UGA email address.
Also, the Libraries provides free access to the Wall Street Journal, including WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, WSJ+, and subscriber-only podcasts and videos. Use this link to create an account using your UGA email address.
Advertising spending data to the brand level across many media types
Advertising Insights is an interactive database containing the most recent 8+ years of advertising expenditures by a wide range of U.S. companies. The data extends to brands and individual products. Media types range across traditional print and broadcast media as well as several online categories. The data can be summarized for more than two hundred geographic markets.
The Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising. Each article looks at the advertising campaign's or market initiative's historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, marketing strategy and development hurdles and the outcome of the campaign - what worked, what didn't and why.
