To use our GALILEO databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus and some UGA wireless networks, you'll be prompted to log in with your MyID and password. Your MyID is your UGAMail address minus the "@uga.edu."
Don't have a MyID? Login with the GALILEO password that you can get in your library account. Once you have the password, go to this page to login. Contact Access Services at 706-542-3256 if you have trouble accessing your library account. The password changes every semester.
Finding Older Journal Articles
You will be mining the bibliographies of the papers you find for additional sources. The quickest way to find out if we have access to a journal, either electronically or in print, is to search under the journals tab of our homepage for the journal title from the citation:
Brugger, K. E., L. N. Arkin, and J. M. Gramlich. 1994. Migration patterns of Cedar Waxwings in the eastern United States. J. Field Ornithol. 65:381-387.
In this case, the journal is:J. Field Ornithol.
Input the name like this (remember J always stands for journal)
This will give you our online access as well as access to the title in print.
Zoological Research Databases
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide - Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide covers wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, including all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Taxonomic and geographic identifiers include broad regions and specific localities.
Zoological Record - Zoological Record covers all aspects of zoology including behavior, biochemistry, disease, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, life cycle, physiology and more. The bibliographic citations come from over 6,000 journals, and selected dissertations and conference proceedings.
Web of Science - Citation indexes are unique in that they identify articles, books, or conference proceedings that have cited a particular author or publication. Citation searching allows researchers to search backward and forward in time and discover influences on current research as well as developments that built on earlier publications. Citation searching also allows researchers to measure influence by analyzing how often a publication has been cited by later researchers.
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts - This database provides citations to worldwide literature on aquatic resources, limnology, ocean technology, and all aspects of the management of marine and freshwater environments.
Biological Sciences - Database on all aspects of biology.
Birds of North America Online - Guide to the birds of North America including descriptions, geographic distribution information, systematic information, habitats, and more, complemented by images, sound files, and video clips.
Catalogue of American Amphibians and Reptiles - In print @ the Science Library - Sci Ref QL651 .A55
Fishes of Alabama - In print @ the Science Library - Sci Ref QL628 .A2 B67 2004
Mammalian Species - (nos. 1-848) - Mammalian species accounts for select animals.
Mammalian Species (later accounts) - Available through BioOne.
EndNote @ UGA
EndNote is a tool that allows users to create a library of citation records that are of interest. PDFs and other file attachments can be associated with these citations. Upon installation of EndNote, a toolbar will install in Word or Pages, This toolbar links to the EndNote library for pulling both the in-text and bibliographic citation into the document in whatever style is needed for the paper.
To download this desktop application, enter your barcode number from your UGA Card at this website: http://www.libs.uga.edu/endnote/index.html
Additional training is available by filling out this form.