Skip to main content

JRLC 5490 History of Mass Media in the United States.: Home

Resources for U.S. Media History (instructor Janice Hume) special collections assignment

Location

Richard B. Russell Building  Special Collections Libraries Building
University of Georgia Libraries
300 South Hull Street
Athens, Georgia 30602-1641

Public Tranportation
Access to the UGA Special Collections Libraries is via public transportation through UGA Campus Transit. The East-West Route makes stops by the building on both Waddell Street and Hull Street and runs from 6:30AM – 1:00AM. UGA buses on the Orbit and Family Housing routes can be accessed one block east at the corner of Lumpkin and Wray Streets. The Milledge Avenue bus can be accessed one block north of the Special Collections Libraries on the corner of Broad and Hull Streets.

Hours

Hargrett Library Reading Room is open Monday-Friday, 8-4:45 p.m. and Saturdays, 1-5 p.m. 

Russell Library for Political Research and Studies Reasearch Room  is open Monday-Friday, 8-4:45 p.m. 

Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Viewing Rooms open by appointment  as needed.

Exhibit Galleries are open Monday-Friday, 8-5 p.m. and Saturdays, 1-5 p.m. 

The special collections libraries listed above are closed for all UGA holidays and UGA home football games. 

Archival Assignment

Assignment Description, Dates, and Meeting Locations 

This semester-long project will help you learn not just about history, but also about how history is researched, written, and preserved. You will explore the WSB Newsfilm and Videotape Collection to find examples of WSB's coverage of important events over the past 75 years and utilize the resources of the UGA Special Collections Libraries to uncover rare documents or artifacts related to the story. You’ll use those “primary sources” as a springboard to consider larger historical issues and then develop ideas for future development.

Exhibits Tour
Friday, January 19, Galleries

This session will give you a taste of all three libraries, including a tour of their galleries. 

  • The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library collects, preserves and shares the published and unpublished works that document the history and culture of Georgia. The Hargrett promotes the state’s literary legacy; and it builds collections of distinction in other areas, including natural history, history of the book, performing arts, women’s history, and University history.

  • The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies serves as a center for research and study of the modern American political system. With particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the U. S. Congress, current collection development and programming focus on the dynamic relationship of politics, policy, and culture—generated wherever public interest intersects with government.

  • The Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection preserves and protects the moving image and sound materials that reflect the collective memory of broadcasting and the history of the State of Georgia and its people. Access to the collections is provided through the creation and development of ongoing public programming and the maintenance of a viewing facility for researchers.

 Document Analysis Experience
Friday, January 26, SCL RM 277

This session will give you some experience with analyzing primary sources for information and mining them for paths to related topics or information. You will work in small groups to learn as much as possible from a selection of materials from the special collections departments connected to media history. 

“Requesting 101.”
Wednesday, January 31, 2018, SCL Rm 277

  • You will learn browsing techniques unique to each library. You’ll set up a research account and will begin the task of honing in on the footage and other primary documents you will request for your archival project.

IMPORTANT! Please bring your laptop to this session


 

 

Subject Guide

Jill Severn's picture
Jill Severn
Contact:
706-542-5766
Website

Mary Miller

Mary Miller's picture
Mary Miller
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building
UGA Special Collections Libraries
300 S. Hull St.

Subject Guide

Subject Guide

Mazie Bowen's picture
Mazie Bowen
Contact:
300 South Hull Street, Athens, GA 30602
706-542-0618